Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Churchill» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mediterranean Campaign rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the Med track, what is the effect of stopping at the Po Valley sector vs the West and East tracks that connect to Germany?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ncree wrote:
In the Med track, what is the effect of stopping at the Po Valley sector vs the West and East tracks that connect to Germany?


You can't invade Germany from the Med Track. Britain and US get a certain amount of VPs of they reach certain spots on the Med Track.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, wasn't sure of the motivation behind it. Anything more than VPs, like reduction of German defense forces?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Historically, Churchill kept encouraging a campaign in Italy with the objective of gaining influence in the area after the war. I believe it's the same here: an Italian campaign can help with VPs (but cannot actually prevent an Axis victory.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, if the Allies invade Sicily or Southern Italy (can't remember which at the moment) it permanently removes the Italian reserves, thus they won't be placed for the rest of the game. In the game the Churchill player gets VPs if Italy is invaded before D-Day. If D-Day happens before Italy, then U.S. gets VPs. It's important for the British to make good progress on this track, two spots on that front give them VPs. But, like Eric says, if the British never take a space on this front it doesn't prevent the Allies from winning if Germany and Japan fall.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the info!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
patton55 wrote:
Yes, if the Allies invade Sicily or Southern Italy (can't remember which at the moment) it permanently removes the Italian reserves, thus they won't be placed for the rest of the game. In the game the Churchill player gets VPs if Italy is invaded before D-Day. If D-Day happens before Italy, then U.S. gets VPs. It's important for the British to make good progress on this track, two spots on that front give them VPs. But, like Eric says, if the British never take a space on this front it doesn't prevent the Allies from winning if Germany and Japan fall.


It's Southern Italy for the conquest.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.