BG
Belgium
flag msg tools
If you have an ability such as the Prophet's Forewarning, which states is "exhaust after dice are rolled", does this happen before, after, or during the spending of surges?

Say we've got Augur Grissom as Prophet. A hypothetical monster has two surge abilities, one Stun, the other deals +1 damage. Attack and defence dice are rolled, and 2 damage goes through. The overlord would like to Stun. However, with Forewarning, the attack would deal no damage, and then through Grissom's ability actually heal the target 1.

So in this case, which of the three is correct:

1. The overlord must spend his surge first. Then the heroes decide if it's worth triggering Forewarning.

2. The heroes must first decide whether or not they trigger Forewarning. Then the OL gets to decide how he'll spend his surge.

3. They happen simultaneously. Thus the OL can spend surges, then the heroes may trigger forewarning, then the OL can change his surgespending, then the heroes choose not to use forewarning after all, so the OL changes his mind again, but then the heroes.... I don't think this is the right option =)

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 14 in the base game rule book lists the combat sequence as follows:

1) Declare weapon and target
2) Roll dice
3) Check range
4) Spend surges
5) Deal damage

Since the effect says to use "after rolling dice" it seems to indicate that it happens after step two but before step three (and subsequently, step four). This means that the Prophet can trigger his ability to avoid any future damage or status effects. Scenario 2 is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BG
Belgium
flag msg tools
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.