Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Terra Mystica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Taking a Favour Tile when you've maxed out a cult track? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vincent B
Australia
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi All,

My Wife and I are just past 50 odd games of TM and only just became stumped by this (it was during what became our first tie and we were each scrounging for points at the death).

The question is, can you choose a favour tile whose cult track value (advancement indicator) will advance you further spaces than you have remaining on that particular track?

eg, If I'm at space 9 can I choose to take the "4 Power" Favour tile which comes with a 2 space advancement on the "cult of Air"?

Additionally, with the Town tiles, If I have no Priests in stock (none playable and none in supply) can I take the "Priest + 9 VP" town tile?

That's all (for now) Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Roy
United Kingdom
Sutton
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only restriction for taking favor tiles is that you can't take one you already have.

There are no restrictions when taking town tiles.

Note that you could convert one priest to a worker before taking your action. Then there would be one available for you to gain when taking the town tile (so you don't lose out completely).
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can also take the +Priest 3-power action even if you don't have a priest to gain, or the Bridge 3-power action even if you can't place a bridge (in both of these cases probably to block an opponent).

In general, you are not prevented from doing anything by the fact that you can't take full advantage of it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
United States
Lebanon
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Penny Press Kickstarter: 1,284 backers - $60,376! Amazing! Thank you!!!
badge
Play Penny Press!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Evil Roy wrote:
There are no restrictions when taking town tiles.

I thought you couldn't grab double town tiles either?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rhett Morgan
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are no restrictions on town tiles - this includes duplicates up to component limit of course.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RobertDD wrote:
Evil Roy wrote:
There are no restrictions when taking town tiles.

I thought you couldn't grab double town tiles either?


You cannot take the same Favor tile, but nothing prevents you from taking the same Town tiles.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent B
Australia
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply, crystal clear!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent B
Australia
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Roy - Thanks for the reply, crystal clear!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent B
Australia
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Roy, Thanks for the reply. Crystal clear!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent B
Australia
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll work out how to use this properly one day, thank you all for your assistance!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.