Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Ottoman Sunset» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card 41 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just checking.
This is the only card that gives you no actions.
The exact wording is,

"No Actions Allowed".

Does this mean I'm not allowed to use German Staff operations for this turn.
I've played it that you can.

Rulebook, bottom of page 7 under player actions.

"After using the Actions granted by the Current Event card, (my emphasis), you may expend additional Actions through German Staff operations.
The "No Actions Allowed" makes this a little ambiguous.

PLB.


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Shockley
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, good question. I tend to read it that you couldn't use a German staff operation, as that's an action, and the card says "no actions allowed". But it's definitely open to either reading and I'll be curious to see what the designer says..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing it the same way as Steve...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Swan
Australia
Randwick
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question! Here's my take on it:

If the card had said "No Actions", then I'd read that as "no actions provided by this card" and would see no reason not to use German Staff operations
However given that it actually says "No Actions Allowed", the scope of that seems to include actions from other sources such as German Staff operations

OTOH it could just be a badly worded card, and maybe the designer's intent was to always allow German Staff operations. The only way to be sure is to get a ruling from VPG.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cross referenced to this thread.

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/16398163#16398163

PLB.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Leviloff
United States
Foster City
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Sorry for the ambiguity, no German staff operations allowed to be taken as an action when "War Weariness" comes into effect. Everyone is weary. Staff Operations can be taken, however, if 0 Actions were given, but I don't think any cards in the game confer 0 Actions.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Darin,

Thank you.
No actions AT ALL for the TURN when card 41 is drawn.
There are no other cards in the deck with 0 actions, you are correct.

PLB.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.