Morgan Reynolds
United States
Malden
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
First let me say that I am very new to the game, having played it just twice with my wife (3rd edition, no expansions). I was so happy upon finishing our first game that I all but demanded playing it through a second time.

But a day or so later, I posed a question to her: "Do you think it should be allowed to change the gender-specific pronouns in ending cards?" It is clear that a large part of the game is making your pieces fit your particular ending card, and when one narrator wants a male to be the protagonist and the other wants a female, well, that's just part of the fun. Moreover, I didn't feel pushed in any specific direction while playing, and one should be able to craft whatever they want in the story anyway. But, it being the resolution, the end can be scripted. And maybe you don't want a pensive female marrying some clod.

I have since looked at the ending cards in my base set and determined the following:

7 cards specifically use the pronoun "she"
8 use "he"
2 use "he" AND "her" and imply a marriage
9 use "they"
25 (the rest) use a specific third party

Clearly there's no problem with the "they" and third party spread, so I took a closer look at the "he" and "she" cards.

I was worried that the "he" cards would be more valiant and adventuring and the "she" cards more being rescued and such, but it is actually pretty even. There's ample room for female questing, just as there is room for submissive males based on these cards (IMHO).

It is clear the creators had this in mind.

The only two things left for me to analyze are the "he" and "she" marriages. I should note that I there are one or two other cards that imply marriage and DO NOT specify.

For completions sake, I'm looking at,
"So he told her he was the prince and they lived happily ever after," and
"So he forgave her and they were married."