Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandon Sapp
United States
Roseville
Michigan
flag msg tools
mb
I'm new to the game and I'm wondering why this is an option?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If the enemy is not in the "staging area", its threat doesn't count against you when you send characters on the quest in the next questing phase. thumbsup

Edit: And as mentioned below, you can choose to engage an enemy alone before you have to fight multiple enemies all at once. Or you can choose to engage the enemy to trigger an effect while you're more able to deal with it. Or to leave an enemy as the only enemy in the staging area so that you can engage that enemy (e.g., Goblin Sniper).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Arnold
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
To remove their Threat from the total, and give your characters the ability to wipe them out before they do something else nasty.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vladimir Lehotai
Slovakia
Piešťany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Because the less enemies in the staging area, the less threat you have to quest against. While it is nice to quest your way to victory, sometimes pulling an enemy to you will help you next round. Not to mention some enemies buff others, so there's t hat as well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben O'Steen
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There are also some cards later on that give you distinct advantages when you engage enemies above your threat level. So, not only are you removing threat from the staging area, you might then be able to play actions to give yourself combat bonuses in the fight too!

For example: http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-c...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Cook
United States
Denton
Texas
flag msg tools
*beep*
badge
mbmbmb