Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan
United States
Maitland
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a newbie, so far enjoying the game quite a bit. A few questions. It's cool that each ship comes with a mission (usually featuring that ship in some way), but is there a good spot to go for generic missions? What about the rulebook missions, are they any good with 2 players instead of 3? Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Official scenarios are necessarily focused around the ship/faction they come with.

There have been a couple of attempts at custom scenarios (look in Variants sub-forum) which tend to be more generic....but right now more focus is on the OP events.

I am hopeful that someday after the OPs have died out (not that I want to rush it), these boards will turn to more scenario-based discussions.

I'd love to have a catalog of scenarios based on episodes for example, so you could watch an episode (from any of the series) and then go play it using some rules/points that someone has taken the time to play-test and balance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
[q="jmw23"but is there a good spot to go for generic missions?[/q]

The only really strictly generic missions are the scenarios for the organized event (which by necessity are generic, though based off of episodes).

The other option is you can just take the suggested point totals for the missions and use whatever ships you feel like. Or even do them at alternate point totals utilizing the rules for the original. For example, The Mutara Nebula scenario that comes with the Reliant is pretty easily adaptable to bigger fleets.

Quote:
What about the rulebook missions, are they any good with 2 players instead of 3? Thanks!