Dave Bullock
msg tools
Fire in the Sky:
9 .4 Task Forces

Any replies gratefully received,thanks

DaBull



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: clarifying game rules
Hi, welcome to BGG. Please edit the subject of your thread to something less generic, e.g. "Can a land.or air unit travel alone as a TF?" and hit the red X for wrong forum, so an admin will move the thread to the Rules forum for Fire in the Sky: The Great Pacific War 1941-1945. (Every game has its own page with forums, findable via the search box.) Good luck!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Robbins
United States
Alcoa
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: clarifying game rules
And don't be put off by the different look of ConsimWorld as another resource.

http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?8@@.1dd06bde
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: clarifying game rules
Moved to Fire in the Sky >> Rules
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Eliason
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
mb
A land or air unit can be a TF all by itself. This makes it pretty vulnerable to sub or air attack, but can be the best play, especially for an American army. A Japanese army that takes air or sub hits reduces the merchant pool, which is damaging even if there is no effect on the landing of the unit. British armies can't move operationally since the Brits only get 6 transport pts. a turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordi Ros
Spain
Cerdanyola del Valles
Barcelona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Can anyone explain me when is this possible?
In the rules a TF is defined as containing 1 to 4 Naval units and 1 Land or Air unit. So i assume there must always be at least one naval unit present in a TF.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gómez Relloso
Spain
Dobro (Los Altos)
Burgos
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
desper_taferro wrote:
Can anyone explain me when is this possible?
In the rules a TF is defined as containing 1 to 4 Naval units and 1 Land or Air unit. So i assume there must always be at least one naval unit present in a TF.

I agree with Jordi. The rules (9.4) say:

Units using Operational Movement move as a Task Force. A Task Force consists of at least one unit, and at the most four naval units and one land or air unit.

Reading this literally, it seems that a Task Force must always include at least one naval unit...
I would like to read an official answer to this.

David
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gómez Relloso
Spain
Dobro (Los Altos)
Burgos
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have received an official answer in Consimworld from the game's developer Adam Starkweather:

One unit is any one unit - so if that is a land or air unit(s), that's fine.

And a also a further explanation by Jim Eliason:

"at the most four naval units" also includes zero.

US armies moving operationally can often sail with no escort; I've done it a lot. But don't try this with a brigade if the enemy has an available sub point. Also it's not a great idea as the IJN to move an unescorted army. It will won't often be turned back, but it's a good way to lose a ship from your merchant pool to a sub attack.


So definitely, a land or air unit alone may conform a Task Force.

David
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.