Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Chaos & Alchemy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about dealing with failure dice rolls. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
If you have a mixture of Success and Failure, you may choose to resolve them in any order. Once you have finished resolving all Successes and Failures, play proceeds to the player on your left.


Consider the situation when a player has zero cards in hand. Or even consider the situation where a player has fewer cards in hand than failure dice.

-If failure and success can be resolved in any order, won't a player be able to do all their failures away with an empty hand, at no card penalty, and then draw their successes? Or is the rule that failure dice can only be subtracted if an actual card loss to the discard pile occurs? May players get away with loosing no or fewer cards to deal with each failure result, or must they have to actually discard a card per die?

-There are negative effect cards which can get placed by the opponent player in front of you, or vice versa. Or even negative effect cards, perhaps, that get placed be one's self. Is there a card mechanism to cancel these, particularly if there is no cancel condition on such ill effect cards?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Iachini
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On your first point, you can (and should) absolutely resolve your failures when you have no cards in hand whenever possible. If you have one card in hand, 3 successes and 1 failure, it's smart to use a success to play that card, use the failure to discard nothing, then use the remaining successes to draw/play cards.

On your second point, there are indeed cards in the game that interact with these negative cards (which are called Misfortunes). There is one Innovation card that "forces" you to give away another card in your laboratory to another player. There are Action and Innovation cards that destroy cards from laboratories or move them to your hand (where you can then play them on someone else). There are Reaction cards that can protect you from ever having the Misfortune hurt you in the first place. There's even one Misfortune that comes with its own "give this to someone else for a cost" mechanism.

By default, is there anything on your typical Misfortune card itself that lets you get rid of it? No. But there are lots of other cards that have that effect.

Michael Iachini
Clay Crucible Games
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A B
msg tools
mbmbmb
-Is there a maximum hand size, by means of the general rules only?

-How is it presently possible for someone to get hold of the 2014, new, quality print of the core game 'Chaos & Alchemy'? Along with a copy of Substances as well, in the same printing style, if possible? Is there an email address I could have if it would help?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Iachini
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No, there is no maximum hand size. You'll find that the rules around discarding cards for failures tend to limit the number of cards in players' hands, but if you have 20 cards in hand, enjoy.

2. Game Salute has not yet published the second edition. The last update I have from them makes it sound like the game will be available for sale by the end of September, and possibly sooner. So, it is not currently possible to get it because it does not yet exist. Even I don't have it yet!

You can pre-order it from Game Salute here: http://gamesalute.com/ChaosAndAlchemy

Michael Iachini
Clay Crucible Games
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.