Kevin S-D
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
A question about resolving the Iguana card on a hunt:

Is the Iguana killed (and are food and skin benefits reaped) if the text at the bottom of the card pushes the hunter's wound level to fatal?

N.B. I was playing solo and Friday was the hunter (accompanied by the dog), so his passing was not an automatic game-ender.

On p. 10 of the Z-Man rulebook, it appears that the text at the bottom of the card is intended to be applied after an animal has been butchered and skinned. But the "After the fight" wording in the rulebook's example is not included in the iguana card's text. I'm new to RC and I am intentionally NOT looking at cards unless they come up in play, so I don't know if this lack of "after the fight" wording is present in other cards.

My interpretation is that the iguana was killed, but that Friday received a nasty bite that became infected by the skin-puncturing cauldron of nasty bacteria soup that (according to a quick search of the internet) an iguana's mouth can accurately be classified as. I imagine Friday's death was painful and prolonged, but even if he expired before making it back to camp, the dog would have gamely carried on and brought the iguana's carcass back to camp for harvesting.

Other interpretations, especially those of an official nature, are most welcome.

Some more game-situation specifics for those who like such details: As mentioned above, I was playing solo. I sent Friday (who had one wound already) and the dog out on a hunt with a weapon level of 2. (Yes, I am cruel to Friday and I was desperate... a horrible combination.)