Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Level 7 [Omega Protocol]» Forums » Rules

Subject: questions about the napalm grenade and hazard rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
kurt de vos
Belgium
bredene
belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hey all

we played mission 2 yesterday and for the first time i used the napalm grenade with the heavy ,

1: does the napalm grenade count as an ranged attack for purpose of the "braced" stance , where a ranged attack costs only 1 insted of 2 adrenaline

2: and when a enemy with multiple hp is hit by the napalm and stands in it , u roll a black die for the hit .
in the overseers turn , do i roll a black die again cause it starts it's turn in the napalm ? like the commando's do in the gas...

thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. I would say no. The card doesn't say, "Attack a square", it states, "Place the napalm marker". So it's not technically an attack.

2. No. Napalm squares are Hazard squares:

Quote:
Hazard [X]: Some spaces on the map have the potential to cause damage
to figures or combatant markers in those spaces. If a figure or combatant
marker is in a space where a hazard is placed or moves into a space with a
hazard, he rolls dice equal to the rating of the hazard. This rating is listed
in brackets. For example, if a space has Hazard [1 red], the player would
roll one red die. A figure or combatant marker suffers a number of wounds
equal to the number of hits rolled on the die (See “Apply Damage,” p. 16).
If a downed commando takes a wound from a hazard, the commando is
killed and removed from the map for the rest of the mission even if this
damage occurs before the Crisis Point has been triggered.


There's no mention of starting a turn in a Hazard space requires a roll. The errata has this:

Quote:
If a figure or combatant marker is in a space where a hazard is
placed or moves into a space with a hazard, he rolls dice equal to
the rating of that hazard. A figure or combatant marker cannot
roll for hazard damage more than once a turn, even if it moves into
multiple hazard spaces. The hazard rating is listed in brackets.


So most likely on the Overseer's turn, you would end up rolling one more time, but that's it.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kurt de vos
Belgium
bredene
belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thx for the reply , makes it for me a lot clearer
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Torell
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Android:Netrunner videos: http://www.peachhack.com
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Quote:
If a figure or combatant marker is in a space where a hazard is
placed or moves into a space with a hazard, he rolls dice equal to
the rating of that hazard. A figure or combatant marker cannot
roll for hazard damage more than once a turn, even if it moves into
multiple hazard spaces. The hazard rating is listed in brackets.


So most likely on the Overseer's turn, you would end up rolling one more time, but that's it.

I agree that even the errata is kind of vague on this point. We've ruled it that "turn" in this case refers to the round marker, so once per full round. So in our games, we haven't been rolling hazard damage twice for enemies still in napalm when the Overseer phase starts, if they have already rolled for it when the grenade was first thrown this turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.