Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Strategy

Subject: What's the ship pure meta look like? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan M D Thomas
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After a solo cube royally thrashed a new shop running their 1st OP (Dominion war OP1). I wasn't there, but I heard it was akin to Little Big Horn where the cube was 1st and everyone else was fighting for 2nd. that shop quickly decided they wanted all future OPs to be run ship pure to prevent she silliness of off faction cards like Spock on Borg ships.

We have no other shops in town ship pure, so I'm not experienced playing in this manner beyond a few pick up games here and there. So.....for those in ship pure environments, how are each of the factions looking?

My thoughts:

Federation:
The Federation tend to play close to pure anyways and have a monopoly on the good captains. If I remember anything from the Admiral's orders days, the federation will be a force. Now with Voyager, Yeager, and the Refit, they have more options than ever.

The Borg:
The Borg lose a lot without Picard, Spock, and company, but they still have those ships. Faction Pure they get queen and reroll tactical drone who are both strong options and the dreaded Ass Tubes to go along with the 360 fring arcs. From games I've played they are still strong, but not shooting 1st with battlestations will tame them by leaps and bounds. I'd imagine they will still see a fair amount of play, but less as the solo cube variety.

The Klingon Empire:
The Vor'Cha and Negh'Var have been strong ships since the 1st day the game rolled out. Cloak isn't what it once was, but pure dice also don't stack as far. Barrage of Fire isn't talked about as much as it used to be, but it and projected stasis field give the tools to kill quite a few things. 3 Klingon ships with Martok and Gowron will always be a solid option and offer substantial firepower.

The Dominion: