1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: New to games.....ready for more rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Damato
msg tools
Hi all,
I am relatively new to games, so I am looking for some recommendations from experienced players.
A little background, I usually play with my family/relatives, ages range from teens to seniors. We usually have a group of six playing, but that number will change by the allowable players for the game itself (six players is preferable).
We recently got into playing some really fun games (different from Monopoly, Sorry, etc.).
So far our collection has Coup, Bang!, Samurai Sword, Carcassonne Big Box, Munchkin, and Love Letter.
We are looking for any suggestions. What have you really enjoyed playing? Anything we should stay away from?
Thank you
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam
Scotland
flag msg tools
admin
badge
I am BGG's official honey trap
mbmbmbmbmb
welcomeblankadam

Games you should stay away from: Munchk... Never mind (this one tends of be a bit of a love hate game).

How long would you like games to last?
Do you want to work cooperatively together or competitively against one another?

Suggestions:

Alhambra - Really simple mechanics in this well respected game that can be very exciting.

Ticket to Ride - Only sits 5. Smashing family game that's simple to pick up and fun to play. Worth saying that Ticket to Ride: Europe adds a couple rules and makes the game less cutthroat.

Dixit - Wonderful party game. Sits 6 out of the box.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Wilkinson
United States
New Castle
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
When asking "What would Jesus do?", remember that flipping over tables and using a whip are within the realm of possibilities.
mbmbmbmbmb
Acquire
King of Tokyo
Scotland Yard
Jamaica
That's Life!

All play 6 and are good for family gaming.

Diamant plays up to 8

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad N
United States