Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Miley
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
In the Arkham Rule Book it states "Once an investigator begins combat with a monster for any reason, his movement is over." Does this mean if a monster moves on a space with a character on it during the mythos phase and the character fights it on his next turn that he doesn't move during that turn? We have been playing that the player can move after attacking so he won't be vulnerable to flying monsters the during the next Mythos phase. However, after re-reading the rules it seems like we may have been playing this incorrectly.

Thanks for any input!

jm
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Walton
United States
Springfield
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are indeed playing it wrong. Once you fight you can't move. If you are worried about getting stuck in the street you can try to sneak past the monster...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
yggdrasiltrad wrote:
Does this mean if a monster moves on a space with a character on it during the mythos phase and the character fights it on his next turn that he doesn't move during that turn?


When an investigator starts movement in a space with a monster, he has to decide if he wishes to leave that space or stay and fight.

If he wishes to leave, he must make an evade check for every monster in the same space. If you evade every monster, you can leave the space. If you fail, you receive the combat damage from the monster and stay and fight the monster.

But if you fight the monster (either as a direct choice or as a result of failing the evade check), your movement is over because combat has begun.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.