Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mare Nostrum» Forums » Rules

Subject: Converting Capitals? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Farris
United States
Medford
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
There is a duck in every game. You may not see it, but it's there.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

We had this come up today in our game. Can you convert a player's captial province? The rules state that you can always build in your capital (even when it is at war). However, we found no rule that stated the opponent could not convert your capital. It seems illogical, but we couldn't find where it was prohibited.

Also, is there anything stopping a player form sacking every upgrade in your capital? This can also effectively remove a player from the game if their resources and other provinces are gone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maarten D. de Jong
Netherlands
Zaandam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
No, you cannot convert an enemy's capital province. You can bleed him dry of his resources and upgrades, though. Look for the last paragraph of the Military Phase in your rule booklet.

In practice, it is a very rare occurrence: Usually players have sufficient resources at their disposal to oust the invaders swiftly. A combined attack is something else, though, but if multiple players zoom in on another like that, he probably deserved it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can never convert a capital. But you could sack everything in it, or occupy everything in it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Farris
United States
Medford
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
There is a duck in every game. You may not see it, but it's there.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cymric wrote:

In practice, it is a very rare occurrence: Usually players have sufficient resources at their disposal to oust the invaders swiftly. A combined attack is something else, though, but if multiple players zoom in on another like that, he probably deserved it.


Babylon had the audacity to build 3 heroes and was heading for the fourth. Thus, Carthage and Greece had to take him down and quickly. That's why he was almost wiped from the baord and had his capital in danger of being converted. Carthage chose to occupy instead as we could not fin the rule (I'm glad we played it correctly). Of course, then rome won with 4 heroes in the next two turns due to turtling with his armed forces. His First wonder was the statue of Zeus. Thus, he barricaded all his forces and waited for a distraction to cement his victory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ramon Zarate
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Isn't Mare Nostrum such a great game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike clark
United States
Danville
California
flag msg tools
Mare Nostrum is a great game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.