Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gulf of Tonkin rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Kassel
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Congressional regrets: Aid –1 per Casualty. All Casualties out of
play.

US Irregular casualties don't normally go out of play. Is this an exception to the norm?

Keeping in mind that commitment cannot return irregulars, perhaps they are immune to the event. Or perhaps they just get blown away by a literal reading.

A somewhat hypothetical question as the US is highly likely to use the unshaded event.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
phil d
msg tools
mbmb
I believe this must be an exception to that norm. Rule 6.5 says to remove 1 in 3 Troop and Base casualty pieces out of play. The Gulf of Tonkin card states "All Casualties." Arguably, these aren't really contradictory. But in any case, Rule 5.1.1 states that when a card's text conflicts with the rules, the card controls (with some specific clarifications and exceptions).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holman
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It sounds like that version of the event models a sudden (counterfactual) drawdown of forces, bringing some troops home and disengaging with local militias.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does a US player really want to have the insurgents play that card ?

It will depend a lot of the situation in out of play and casualty pool.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Kassel
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Lugbar wrote:
Does a US player really want to have the insurgents play that card ?

It will depend a lot of the situation in out of play and casualty pool.


It might be harmless if there are no casualties, but the unshaded side is pretty attractive. In a historical game, I would think US would always want to play it (although there might be more urgent things to do). In a random game, out of play might be empty and air strikes unattractive or unproductive so it would be uninteresting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question, and correct answers, thanks.

Quote:
It sounds like that version of the event models a sudden (counterfactual) drawdown of forces, bringing some troops home and disengaging with local militias.

... including, if it did blow away any Irregulars to out of play, bringing home the US Special Forces who train local tribesmen and who carry out long-range recon patrols on their own.

Note that other Events (War Photographer, Fact Finding) could bring those Irregulars back from out of play.

Best, vfr
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.