Popular Tags: [View All]
Alison
United Kingdom
Oxford
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm VERY new to board games (I know, slow to the party). So far we've played Munchkin a LOT, plus variations; Cards Against Humanity and Fluxx.

I've played Settlers of Catan, Hive and Carcassonne on my iPad, but they're very different games played that way, and not entirely satisfactory. I tried and failed to play the Ticket to Ride card game - I need to see it played, really.

I play with my almost grown-up son and daughter - we'd like a game that's easy to learn, easy to play, not too tactical (something dependent on luck is funnier) and playable for 2 or 3 players.

We have an excellent board game cafe near us, so we could have a go at something before we buy - they have a vast range of games.

Any ideas please?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wizard Nathan
Australia
Randwick
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'd definitely have a look at the board game of Ticket to Ride. It's simple but very enjoyable.

Another one worth checking out could be King of Tokyo. If you're familiar with the dice game Yahtzee you're halfway there, but even if not it's a simple game with a lot of fun. It's about monsters trying to be, well, King of Tokyo. Fun and silly.

Love Letter probably won't work with two players but it'd be fun with three. There's only 16 cards in the whole game, and you can learn it in about a minute.

Hope you find some games that work for you!

edit: If you find it easiest to see how a game is played (I do all the time), there are plenty of videos on this site that will show you. Searching for any game and then going to the video section of the game's page will have a lot of reviews and how-to-play guides.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Belli
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
"If everybody is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking."
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to BGG!