Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Copying and event-attachment rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Folkert
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you copy an event card that is attached to the target (e.g. Tear Gas or Eidolon) with Visitor from the Spheres? It would seem as though this would not be allowed.

http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/CoC/CoCCards.html?&advan...

http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/CoC/CoCCards.html?&advan...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think so. That is, I don't see a reason why not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, if so, what gets attached to the (second) target? The original event-cum-attachment card?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The original Tear Gas is still attached where it was.

Visitor would be attached to your card effectively counting as a Tear Gas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dboeren wrote:
The original Tear Gas is still attached where it was.

Visitor would be attached to your card effectively counting as a Tear Gas.

That seems like an odd solution. Visitor from the Spheres doesn't get discarded like other event cards when it mimics their effects. Why should it share in their fate this time? Also, from the FAQ:
Quote:
If a card copies another card’s text
or effect and the text includes self-
references (i.e. the card’s title) is it
replaced by the card’s title that is
copying the effect?

Copying a character’s text box does
just that. All examples of a card’s name
remain unaltered, and as such refers to
cards of that name only.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Conlon
Australia
Berowra
NSW
flag msg tools
mb
You got it, Carthoris... While you can 'copy' the effect, it simply can't work because it's a copy of the effect but not of the card "Tear Gas" itself.

Copying cards/effects with self-references won't work, unless you create or become a copy of that card including its title, as with Doppelganger or Fleeting Guise.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, sorry. I overlooked that Visitor was a character and not an event itself. Please disregard my post then
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.