Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Love Letter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Prince is played & there are not cards left to draw rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
john newman
United States
Lafayette
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens in a two player game when the active player draws the last card, plays the prince and there are no cards left to draw? Does the person who discarded lose?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Bolme
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That player takes the card that was set aside at the start of the game.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There should be one last hidden card that is out of play, right? The rules say when the Prince is the last card played, the player who discards will draw that last hidden card, upon which that round ends and players determine the winner by the number of their remaining cards.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Curtiss
United States
Dothan
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The player who needs to draw a card picks up the card that was set aside unrevealed at the start of the card deal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the deck is empty, that
player draws the card that was
removed at the start of the round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
john newman
United States
Lafayette
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't remember reading that rule. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad B
United States
Anderson
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aren't there 4 cards set aside at the start of a two player game. Would they just grab one of those cards? Would play continue, or end there?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
johnpnewman wrote:
I didn't remember reading that rule. Thanks.

Quoting the rules on page 19:

"When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (do not apply its effect) and draws a new card. If the deck is empty, that player draws the card that was removed at the start of the round."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph
United States
Ewing
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Christmas Card Exchange: 2009 - 2014
badge
I play at EPGS on the 1st and 3rd Saturday of the month and if you live in Eastern PA, Western NJ or Northern DE ... you should too!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ranerdar wrote:
Aren't there 4 cards set aside at the start of a two player game. Would they just grab one of those cards? Would play continue, or end there?


I believe that three of the set asides are face up, one face down. They take the face down one.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad B
United States
Anderson
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ElCid91 wrote:
Ranerdar wrote:
Aren't there 4 cards set aside at the start of a two player game. Would they just grab one of those cards? Would play continue, or end there?


I believe that three of the set asides are face up, one face down. They take the face down one.


Doh! That's right. My mistake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.