Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Axis & Allies: WWI 1914» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multinational Contested Territory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Scenario -
Belgium is contested by France and Germany, lets say France has 10 inf and Germany has 12 inf. There are 4 British inf in Picardy, if they are moved into Belgium are they forced to engage the Germans in combat or can they simply reinforce the French and keep contesting and would be it be the same as if Britain moved 4 inf into Belgium via transports ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, every time new units enter a contested area they engage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The British units are not required to fight. From page 17 of the rulebook:
Quote:
You are required to attack only in territories that have become contested this turn due to your movement of units into them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
The British units are not required to fight. From page 17 of the rulebook:
Quote:
You are required to attack only in territories that have become contested this turn due to your movement of units into them.

Yes, but that's in the section about units remaining. It discusses elsewhere moving new units into contested areas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
whac3 wrote:
Yes, but that's in the section about units remaining.

No, it isn't. It's in the first paragraph in the Conduct Combat section. The next sentence is:
Quote:
Attacks in territories that were already contested at the beginning of the turn and in sea zones are always optional, even if you have moved units into them this turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
whac3 wrote:
Yes, but that's in the section about units remaining.

No, it isn't. It's in the first paragraph in the Conduct Combat section. The next sentence is:
Quote:
Attacks in territories that were already contested at the beginning of the turn and in sea zones are always optional, even if you have moved units into them this turn.

Whatever play however you want, mate.

To the OP;

Just read the entire rule-book before playing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
whac3 wrote:
Just read the entire rule-book before playing.

...and the FAQ as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Bjergmose
Denmark
Viby Sjælland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
whac3 wrote:
Krieghund wrote:
whac3 wrote:
Yes, but that's in the section about units remaining.

No, it isn't. It's in the first paragraph in the Conduct Combat section. The next sentence is:
Quote:
Attacks in territories that were already contested at the beginning of the turn and in sea zones are always optional, even if you have moved units into them this turn.

Whatever play however you want, mate.

To the OP;

Just read the entire rule-book before playing.


Really...Krieghund overruled surprise First time for everything.

If in doubt...ask Krieghund!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe V
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Every reasonable interpretation of the English rules lends us to believe that you only have to engage in an attack on the turn that you contest the territory.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.