Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions after first play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stuart Ekin
United Kingdom
Bangor
County Down
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Really enjoyed our first game, though we had a couple of questions.

1) When attacked in a region with a stonghold, the defending army has the option of a field battle or retreating into the stronghold. For a field battle, the rules say that it is resolved normally. For a siege there are different rules, but it doesn't make clear if you follow the same rules for a field battle, but apply the siege rules as well.

That is, after the first action of retreating into a siege, do you just follow the normal combat rules - play combat card, combat roll, leader re-roll, etc?

2) In our game, the SP player had Rivendell under siege, and the ring bearers were still here showing its last known location, even though the progress track was at 8.

The FP decided to move the fellowship progress counter with an action die, which was unsuccessful, resulting in a hunt.

The question is - does the shadow player get a re roll because there is a shadow army in Rivendell, even though the ring bearers may be up to 8 regions away, its just that the marker is still in Rivendell?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Schep
Netherlands
Amersfoort
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brightspark101 wrote:
Really enjoyed our first game, though we had a couple of questions.

1) When attacked in a region with a stonghold, the defending army has the option of a field battle or retreating into the stronghold. For a field battle, the rules say that it is resolved normally. For a siege there are different rules, but it doesn't make clear if you follow the same rules for a field battle, but apply the siege rules as well.

That is, after the first action of retreating into a siege, do you just follow the normal combat rules - play combat card, combat roll, leader re-roll, etc?

2) In our game, the SP player had Rivendell under siege, and the ring bearers were still here showing its last known location, even though the progress track was at 8.

The FP decided to move the fellowship progress counter with an action die, which was unsuccessful, resulting in a hunt.

The question is - does the shadow player get a re roll because there is a shadow army in Rivendell, even though the ring bearers may be up to 8 regions away, its just that the marker is still in Rivendell?


1) When you retreat into siege the combat ends immediately and no dice are rolled. It's like a normal retreat except that it happens before the first combat round.

2) The Shadow player gets a reroll, the rerolls are based on where the fellowship miniature currently is. You wouldn't be able to get any rerolls otherwise when the fellowship progressed one space.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karan R
India
Mumbai
flag msg tools
It's Karan, not Karen!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I recall
1.If you retreat into siege, attack is over
2.Yes, there is an army on the fellowship's location
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King Maple
Estonia
Tallinn
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A handy things to keep in mind:

- Areas with no fortress: if attacker enters, at least one round of attack happens where both sides hit with a 5 or 6. After this combat round defender can retreat, to avoid further combat rounds, to another friendly/empty area. Attacker can retreat to avoid further combat rounds back to the area they came from. If neither retreats, a new combat round happens after which both can retreat again.

- Areas with fortress and defender decides to field-battle: Attacker hits only with 6 during the first round of combat. The rest work as if regular field battle, except during before every new battle round the defender can also retreat to a fortress. Retreating to fortress is limited to 5 units only, the rest are removed from the board. (I suppose you'd be allowed to retreat with just 5 and use the rest to field battle until they are dead, but there's no rule governing that).

- Areas with fortress and defender decides to retreat into fortress: No combat happens, attacker moves to the area surrounding the fortress. Attacker must use another dice to attack the fortress during that turn. Fortress attacks hit only with 6 while defender hits with 5 or 6. Differently from field battle, fortress attacks do not automatically get a new round of combat unless an elite is downgraded to a regular in the attacking army. Defender cannot also retreat from the fortress to another area, unless charging the attacking army on the field first (called Sortie, more rules about that in the rulebook).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Schep
Netherlands
Amersfoort
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Slashdoctor wrote:
- Areas with fortress and defender decides to field-battle: Attacker hits only with 6 during the first round of combat. The rest work as if regular field battle in previous point, except during before every new battle round the defender can retreat also to a fortress.


This is wrong you get no penalty as attacker when attacking a province with a Stronghold in a field battle. The attacker only gets the first round penalty when attacking a city or a fortification.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) If the defender decides to retreat into the Stronghold the combat ends and no actual attacks are made.

2) When the Fellowships moves, the Shadow player gets one re-roll if there is an Army unit in the region with the Fellowship figure (Frodo & Sam). Where the Fellowship marker is on the Fellowshiptrack doesn't matter.

Think of it as the minions of Sauron are tracking the movement of the Fellowship.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King Maple
Estonia
Tallinn
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Valandor wrote:
Slashdoctor wrote:
- Areas with fortress and defender decides to field-battle: Attacker hits only with 6 during the first round of combat. The rest work as if regular field battle in previous point, except during before every new battle round the defender can retreat also to a fortress.


This is wrong you get no penalty as attacker when attacking a province with a Stronghold in a field battle. The attacker only gets the first round penalty when attacking a city or a fortification.


This is correct, my mistake.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Ekin
United Kingdom
Bangor
County Down
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Veldrin wrote:
1) If the defender decides to retreat into the Stronghold the combat ends and no actual attacks are made.


Yes, but in the next turn with an action die, the defender is besieged. Does combat just follow the normal combat process with the exception of attacker hitting on a 6.

That is, do you both players still have the option to play combat cards and perform leader re-rolls when the defender is besieged?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brightspark101 wrote:
Yes, but in the next turn with an action die, the defender is besieged. Does combat just follow the normal combat process with the exception of attacker hitting on a 6.

That is, do you both players still have the option to play combat cards and perform leader re-rolls when the defender is besieged?


Yes. But the attacker must downgrade an Elite unit to a Regular unit after each round of combat if he wants the combat to continue.

Also, the defender does not have the option to retreat.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.