Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

War and Peace» Forums » Rules

Subject: Exchange of Prisoners - Naval? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bindusri de Silva
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
from 5? on page 46/61 TSBEF

Exchange of Prisoners
a. During the game, whenever an army or navy unit surrenders, or is captured, it is immediately removed from the map board and placed in the "Prisoners" box of the state which forced its surrender.

This indicates that when a navy unit surrenders or is captured it is immediately removed from the map board and placed in the "Prisoners" box of the state which forced its surrender.

However F.9 on pg 44/61

Naval Prizes
a. Captured Naval Units are handled at the discretion of the capturing player in the following manner. The capturing player must immediately destroy the prize and return it to the owning player's force pool or keep the prize in play by leaving it on the map board. As long as the capturing player retains physical possession of the prize he may, at his option, tow it to a friendly port, repair it and incorporate it into his own active forces.

I find this pair of rules contradictory. I believe F.9 takes precedence but would appreciate guidance on this.

cheers Lakers24
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gant
United States
Wakefield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Monsieur I believe you are correct.

The rules for Naval Prizes were adopted in to the full rule set from a rough form of optional rules. Seems they were imperfectly adopted.

It appears this one stands as an item that needs to be corrected in the rules.

Thank you!

--JokerRulez
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vicomte13 13
msg tools
Naval units are only exchanged for Naval units. So, if you each have captured prizes of the others, those are exchanged, unit for unit.
That's unlikely, but possible.

More likely, one side will have a lot of prizes and never have to return them.

All sides are limited by the counter mix. There are a certain limited number of extra French and British and Spanish naval units. A prize that is converted should be replaced with those extra units for the first few, and the counter returned to the other sides force pool.

Once those extra markers are used up, then the prizes stay on the board.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.