Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Redirecting Damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Smith
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Assume that Iron Legacy is out, and he has a Superhuman Redirection in play (redirect the first instance of 5+ damage to a hero target).

I'm playing Nightmist, and have both an Elder Ring (+1 damage) and an Amulet of the Elder Gods (discard 2, redirect the first damage i would take) in play.

Iron Legacy, for whatever reason, hits me for 5 melee damage. I choose to discard 2 cards and redirect that damage back at Iron Legacy.

What is now the source of this damage? When Iron Legacy first throws the damage at me, I'm 99% sure the damage is coming from Iron Legacy. When Nightmist redirects it, is this damage still considered to come from Iron Legacy? Do I now take ownership of this damage now that I redirect it? Does Elder Ring increase this damage? I'm not technically "dealing" the damage, I'm redirecting it from another source, so would that mean it doesn't get increased?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig McRoberts
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Redirection does not change the original source of the damage.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ironhide1 wrote:
I had a situation like this in a game today, involving a Nemesis bonus.

Legacy is lowest HP. He can the card in play where he can take damage for others, and has -1 Damage from another card.
Wraith is highest HP. She has smoke bombs in play, which is a redirect to highest and -1 Damage.

Blade blasts Legacy for 4 DMG, plus 1 for a total of 5 because he's that stinking do-gooder.

Wraith pops a smoke bomb and leaps in Blade's way. That doesn't change the fact that Blade still thinks he's punching Legacy. Damage is reduced by 1 from the smoke bombs, now sitting at 4