Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Travel action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy Christensen
Denmark
Århus
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes you wan't to use a train/boat ticket before you actual move action, but is that possible, as long as you take a move action? - In the rules it says "After moving, the investigator may spend any number of
travel tickets to move one additional space per ticket spent. "
- I have just seen some playthrough videos, where the player sometimes spent the ticket first, so I was wondering.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vladimir Lehotai
Slovakia
Piešťany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Those playthroughs were wrong. Just as the rules say, your movement is always first and then you may use any tickets to move further.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why would you want to do that, or rather, why would it matter? You can only spend a train ticket if your first move was by train, and you can only spend a boat ticket as long as your first move was by boat. Whether you discard the tickets before or after the first move doesn't really matter, you only get the extra moves after the first one.

Those players probably just played it like this for convenience. You usually know before you move how many spaces you want to move - so you can just as well discard the tickets and then move it all at once, instead of moving one space, then discarding tickets, then moving the rest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haslo wrote:
Why would you want to do that, or rather, why would it matter? You can only spend a train ticket if your first move was by train, and you can only spend a boat ticket as long as your first move was by boat. Whether you discard the tickets before or after the first move doesn't really matter, you only get the extra moves after the first one.

Those players probably just played it like this for convenience. You usually know before you move how many spaces you want to move - so you can just as well discard the tickets and then move it all at once, instead of moving one space, then discarding tickets, then moving the rest.


That's not true, if you have a boat ticket and move down a sea path as your first action to a place that is connected only by train further you can't actually move any more. If you could have played the boat ticket first, which you are not allowed to, you could then take your regular move and thus move two spaces.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jep, haslo is wrong here. It matters and even more often than you think :-)
It seems like the paths are even designed like that to give a bigger movement hurdle.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorks
flag msg tools
DARK IN HERE, ISN'T IT?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haslo wrote:
You can only spend a train ticket if your first move was by train, and you can only spend a boat ticket as long as your first move was by boat.


This is wrong isn't it?

Provided you use your move action first, you can spend a land or sea travel ticket(s) regardless of whether your first move was by land or sea.

Rules:

"As an action, an investigator moves to any space adjacent to his current
space. Then he may spend any number of travel tickets, moving one
additional space along a Train path or Ship path for each Train Ticket
token or Ship Ticket token spent, respectively."
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Beloch wrote:
haslo wrote:
You can only spend a train ticket if your first move was by train, and you can only spend a boat ticket as long as your first move was by boat.


This is wrong isn't it?

Provided you use your move action first, you can spend a land or sea travel ticket(s) regardless of whether your first move was by land or sea.

Rules:

"As an action, an investigator moves to any space adjacent to his current
space. Then he may spend any number of travel tickets, moving one
additional space along a Train path or Ship path for each Train Ticket
token or Ship Ticket token spent, respectively."
Yes, it's wrong. The two limits are that you move first then use ticket(s) and the ticket has to match the route you want to use.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.