Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Zombicide» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions from our last session. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
martin andreasson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Was a great session with lots of action, even so some new things came up that confused us as usual

First: Can you use a free move action to get into a car?

secondly:In the first tutorial it states that cars can get through a double door, what does that look like? Is that two ordinary doors connected or?

Third:About shooting. Because as far as we know you CAN shoot from a car when you drive by. How does that work though? If for example you shoot into the next zone im guessing you do not hit other survivors in the car? Also if there are zombies in same zone and you shoot you shoot the survivors in the car frst or how does that work?

My friend got the wakizashi and the katana, it has a text saying it gets something extra with the wakisashi although you cant dualwield them right?

Also, the trading of EQ got a bit muddles from time to time as we werent sure how and when you could rearange stuff after you had taken an action to trade. Also do you have to give something back to the guy/girl trading something? Or can you decide amongst yourself what goes between the survivors as long as one spend and action doing it on his/her turn?

The line of sight and noise for zombies, which goes first? if for example the zombie sees someone but have a lot of noise on another street nearby?

If someone drive the car, can they still take actions hiting and shooting if the have actions left??
Ok that is all for now hehe

/Thanks, Martin.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Curtis
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First: Can you use a free move action to get into a car?

Yes - you can do this

secondly:In the first tutorial it states that cars can get through a double door, what does that look like? Is that two ordinary doors connected or?

There are certain maps where 2 door tokens are used to represent a garage, so yes 2 door tokens side by side.

Third:About shooting. Because as far as we know you CAN shoot from a car when you drive by. How does that work though? If for example you shoot into the next zone im guessing you do not hit other survivors in the car? Also if there are zombies in same zone and you shoot you shoot the survivors in the car frst or how does that work?

Same or Different Zone - same as the game
You shoot Survivors first in the Target Zone


My friend got the wakizashi and the katana, it has a text saying it gets something extra with the wakisashi although you cant dualwield them right?

That is correct, but using then as if dual wielding provides a nice bonus to the Katana

Also, the trading of EQ got a bit muddles from time to time as we werent sure how and when you could rearange stuff after you had taken an action to trade. Also do you have to give something back to the guy/girl trading something? Or can you decide amongst yourself what goes between the survivors as long as one spend and action doing it on his/her turn?

To trade or re-arrange is 1 Action as the re-arrange is part of the trade. You can trade multiple things in one trade and it can be one way or mutual trades.

The line of sight and noise for zombies, which goes first? if for example the zombie sees someone but have a lot of noise on another street nearby?

Line of Sight first...

If someone drive the car, can they still take actions hiting and shooting if the have actions left??
You can shoot if you select to do so with actions that allow it

/Thanks, Martin.
[/q]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Leslie
United States
Portland
OR
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
zolamnus wrote:
Was a great session with lots of action, even so some new things came up that confused us as usual

First: Can you use a free move action to get into a car?

secondly:In the first tutorial it states that cars can get through a double door, what does that look like? Is that two ordinary doors connected or?

Third:About shooting. Because as far as we know you CAN shoot from a car when you drive by. How does that work though? If for example you shoot into the next zone im guessing you do not hit other survivors in the car? Also if there are zombies in same zone and you shoot you shoot the survivors in the car frst or how does that work?

My friend got the wakizashi and the katana, it has a text saying it gets something extra with the wakisashi although you cant dualwield them right?

Also, the trading of EQ got a bit muddles from time to time as we werent sure how and when you could rearange stuff after you had taken an action to trade. Also do you have to give something back to the guy/girl trading something? Or can you decide amongst yourself what goes between the survivors as long as one spend and action doing it on his/her turn?

The line of sight and noise for zombies, which goes first? if for example the zombie sees someone but have a lot of noise on another street nearby?

If someone drive the car, can they still take actions hiting and shooting if the have actions left??
Ok that is all for now hehe

/Thanks, Martin.


1) Getting in and out of a car is its own action, not a move action. So you could not use a free move action to get into the car.

2)I'm assuming you mean the TCM tutorial mission? TCM has it's own unique doors that can connect the mall hallways to outside. These doors can be opened normally, ie with a hammer, ax, crowbar or survivor with break in. Once the doors are opened, cars can drive in the hallways.

3) Survivors in the car can make attacks from the car with all the normal rules for targetting. Survivors inside the car can make melee attacks at other zombies in their zone. Survivors can make ranged attacks at any zone in their standard range. If making a ranged attack from within a car, you would still target other survivors in the square first, whether or not they are in the car.

4)Having both a wakasashi and katana in hand gives I believe +2 die to attacks made with the katana. You are correct that you cannot make attacks with both a wakasashi and katana in the same turn, as they are different weapons, and you need identical weapons with a dual wield symbol or a skill like ambidexrous and two identical weapons to make dual wield attacks.

5) One survivor can spend an action to reorganize their own equipment and/or exchange any number of cards with another player. The player being exchanged with can reorganize their equipment for free. I would say that this means that the survivor spending the action needs to either give another player 1 or more cards, take 1 or more cards, or both. Though, technically 0 is a number, so according to a literal interpretation of the RAW (which isn't very thematically appropriate), when one character ONLY reorganizes their equipment, they could select another character to reorganize equipment for free. Maybe someone will jump in and let me know if I'm wrong with looking at it like that.

6) LOS take priority to noise. If a Zombie has LOS to a zone with at least one survivor, it will move towards them. If a Zombie has LOS to multiple zones that have characters, it will move towards the loudest zone that has survivors in it. If the zombie has LOS to multiple zones with characters and identical noise tokens, the zombie will move towards each zone, and may split if the zones are in different directions.
If the zombie does not have LOS, it will take the shortest path the the loudest zone(s). This might also result in splitting, as there may be multiple shortest paths, or multiple zones with identical noise tokens. Also, survivors without the ninja skill count as noise tokens.

7) A survivor can spend one action to drive a car (2 spaces for normal cars, 3 for the muscle car). A survivor can spend multiple actions driving the car, or could spend one action driving, and other actions attacking, getting out of the car, making noise, etc.

Hope that helps. Enjoy
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Nolin
Japan
Nakamachi, Hiroshima
Hiroshima-ken
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
5. I would agree that zero is a number (and it may be a lonelier number than the number one), but can't see nothing as being either a trade or an exchange.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wystan wrote:
First: Can you use a free move action to get into a car?

Yes - you can do this

secondly:In the first tutorial it states that cars can get through a double door, what does that look like? Is that two ordinary doors connected or?

There are certain maps where 2 door tokens are used to represent a garage, so yes 2 door tokens side by side.

Third:About shooting. Because as far as we know you CAN shoot from a car when you drive by. How does that work though? If for example you shoot into the next zone im guessing you do not hit other survivors in the car? Also if there are zombies in same zone and you shoot you shoot the survivors in the car frst or how does that work?

Same or Different Zone - same as the game
You shoot Survivors first in the Target Zone


My friend got the wakizashi and the katana, it has a text saying it gets something extra with the wakisashi although you cant dualwield them right?

That is correct, but using then as if dual wielding provides a nice bonus to the Katana

Also, the trading of EQ got a bit muddles from time to time as we werent sure how and when you could rearange stuff after you had taken an action to trade. Also do you have to give something back to the guy/girl trading something? Or can you decide amongst yourself what goes between the survivors as long as one spend and action doing it on his/her turn?

To trade or re-arrange is 1 Action as the re-arrange is part of the trade. You can trade multiple things in one trade and it can be one way or mutual trades.

The line of sight and noise for zombies, which goes first? if for example the zombie sees someone but have a lot of noise on another street nearby?

Line of Sight first...

If someone drive the car, can they still take actions hiting and shooting if the have actions left??
You can shoot if you select to do so with actions that allow it

/Thanks, Martin.


1st answer is wrong. You cannot use a move action to get into a car. You can use a move action to drive it.

Second answer is incorrect, but not completely wrong. Mall double doors are the doors that you can drive through. You can only drive through two regular doors that are next to each other if the scenario rules allow it.

To clarify, when you trade both trading survivors can rearrange inventory for free.

The rest of these answers are good.

Edit: coyotenomad ninjahas given really good answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt **
United States
Unspecified
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
You can use a move action to drive it.


Actually it says on page 11 of the rule book pretty clearly that driving a car IS NOT a move action

This Action is not a Move and is not subject
to movement modifiers, such as a free Move Action or
increased movement, nor is it affected by disadvantages
related to Move Actions (cars can leave a Zone with Zombies
in it without the need to spend extra Actions).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.