7 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Pathfinder card game-Should I buy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glutton Idiocy
England
flag msg tools
Hope I've put this in the right place. This is my first post here, and I'm feeling a tad lost.

So, I've come into some money, and I'm thinking of getting this. I've never played pathfinder, or any deck building games for that matter. The promise of RPG adventure does appeal to me.

-How easy to get into is it? I'm not a complete idiot, but honestly, I'm having trouble even understanding the reviews properly, especially a lot of them reference the pathfinder tabletop which I've never played, and I'm still fairly new to tabletop/board/card/whatever you'd call it games.

-How much space do you need? I struggle with this. I just managed to get enough space cleared in my room for firefly: The board game with two players, maybe three at tops. Whilst it was a real good motivator to tidy a bit, it'd suck to sink 50 quid into something I don't have the space for at all.

-How necessary is it to get expansion packs? Not that I'm adverse to getting them, but I haven't really seen them anywhere. Being in the UK and not fond of buying online, my options are limited.

-How good/varied is it for single player? I find it a lot easier to justify the cost of these kinds of things when I can only really play it on the admittedly rare occasion that I can get friends organised to play with.

In the event that you think I shouldn't get it, I was also thinking about the lord of the rings card game or The Walking dead: The best defence although I'm a little wary that it might just be a cynical cash grab. Tabletop/board games have those, right? I wonder what the board game/tabletop EA is...probably games workshop. Thanks and sorry if I got anything wrong or sounded like an idiot.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Campbell
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge