Popular Tags: [View All]
Judd Vance
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been playtesting Festung Europa: The Campaign for Western Europe, 1943-1945.

It is a card driven game (OPS/Events-based) that follows the linage of Paths of Glory, meaning you spend OPS points to place attack and movement markers.

It is actually the next evolution in the system: in this game, you don't have restrictions on playing 1 reinforcement card per turn; 1 replacement points card every other turn, 1 Redeploy card every other turn card. The Reserves boxes are also connected to the map, so you can spend OPS points to move units out of them on to the board. Instead of distributing step loss points, you distribute step losses. And while you do replace a destroyed corps with a division in the reserve box, if you don't have the division in the reserve, your corps is not automatically destroyed.

As a result of this, the rules are a lot easier because they don't have all of those fiddly exceptions.

The game covers the western theater of WWII from 1943-45, beginning with either Operation Husky (Invasion of Sicily) or Operation Round Up (Norway or Calais).

I have had a lot of fun playing with it, but the designer is looking for more play testers. There is a Vassal module for it. It has been floating around for years. I took a look at it in June and started messing with it, making improvements to it. When the game is published, I'll gut it and make more. Right now, the goal was to have something working.

There is also a Cyberbox module for it, but I don't have access to it. I can point you in the direction if that is your preference.