Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Asking for Trobils» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pirates questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Sanchez
United States
chaska
MN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does a pirate steal on of the resources that were gathered at that location or can I give any resource of mine (let's say I have extra of another resource?

If I have some connections for other resources there who chooses which resource is stolen?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Strain
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you land on a Location you can choose to interact with it in any order. So you can land there, get your two resources, give one to the Pirate, then get your connection resources, or you can get connections, get resources, pay Pirate. It's up to you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sanchez
United States
chaska
MN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I pay with a totally different resource?



I assume your previous answer covers the question I was going to ask next. If I have a connection to gather a resource that can be used at that location (say credits for traps) can I use the credit I get to retrieve more traps? Looks like the answer is yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Strain
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure, you can pay any resource you like. Credits also act as a resource.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Please include this in the final rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Strain
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Will do!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LCG 74160
msg tools
mbmb
krakengames wrote:
When you land on a Location you can choose to interact with it in any order. So you can land there, get your two resources, give one to the Pirate, then get your connection resources, or you can get connections, get resources, pay Pirate. It's up to you.

Can you interact with the location even if you cannot pay the Pirate?

Imagine a Pirate on the Worm Hole and a player with only 3 Credits and 3 Ore. Can the player choose to spend his resources first (to get a new ship) and then tell the Pirate: sorry, nothing for you?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
You must pay the pirate before doing anything else.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sanchez
United States
chaska
MN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
[q="toober"]You must pay the pirate before doing anything else.[/q

Not true. See Christians post above. You may interact in any order. you must however pay. That means you can gain the resources from the location (let's say Crystals from the comet) and then pay the pirate a crystal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Oh that's right. Connection cards are first in line.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Strain
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify guys, if at any time while you are visiting a location, you must pay the Pirate. That means if you go there and don't have a resource, but then gain one through the location or connections, you have to pay him before the end of your turn. Since every location either pays a resource or takes them, there's no real case in which you can't pay the Pirate. I suppose if you go to the Space Station with no resources, then you have nothing to pay the pirate, except the turn you just wasted lol.

When in doubt, keep to the theme.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Burgess
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Do you pay if you are visiting to kill him with a bounty hunter?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Ruval wrote:
Do you pay if you are visiting to kill him with a bounty hunter?
No
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Strain
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ruval wrote:
Do you pay if you are visiting to kill him with a bounty hunter?

No, that would be interacting with them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Katherine B
Canada
Burlington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
krakengames wrote:
Ruval wrote:
Do you pay if you are visiting to kill him with a bounty hunter?

No, that would be interacting with them.


That's interesting. We played it like this in our first game, but had ended up ruling that you did have to pay, just due to the change in the wording on the Pirate card in the second edition. (Pirate says "Before visiting a location, pay" and bounty hunter says "When you land..." which to me implies it happens after the pirate's effect). We found this made Sheriffs, which were otherwise a little weak because the pirates were just getting killed off by bounty hunters instead, more useful.

But it seems we had the rules right the first time...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Strain
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, good observation. But yeah, don't pay the pirate. Thematically, you wouldn't get robbed by the guy you're capturing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.