Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Puzzle Strike (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defend all attacks with purple shield? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Gabelman
United States
Beachwood
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife played the "ante 1 chip into opponent's gem pile".

Will by crash purple shield block this?

If. Have the ongoing effect of the mermaid character, "bubble defense", will THAT stop the ante? Or is an ante treated different than a crash?

Also, the attacking chip that says " discard 2 wounds or take 1", what is the benefit of discarding two chips? Are you supposed to TRASH 2wounds?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Seifert
United States
Little Canada
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
- Crash gem can only be played as a reaction when an opponent sends gems to your pile (with another crash gem or something that acts "as a crash gem").

- You would rather discard two wounds (which are mostly useless) than gain a wound. The option to discard two wounds is that chip's drawback. You realize it is your opponent who is supposed to discard two wounds or take a wound, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Like you have guessed, ante is not the same as crashing/sending gems; you cannot play a purple shield in reaction to ante and neither will Bubble Shield help. These situation rather call for blue shields.

Except for interactions with certain other chips, discarding these wounds won't do a lot. The main draw here is that by proving that he already has two wounds (by discarding them), the opponent can avoid gaining another one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher B
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Also, the attacking chip that says " discard 2 wounds or take 1", what is the benefit of discarding two chips? Are you supposed to TRASH 2wounds?


When you play this chip your opponent has to gain a wound...
When you play this chip repeatedly you will totally destroy the deck of your opponent with useless chips.
BUT when you use this chip to often, chances are that your opponent has 2 wounds on his hand already. Then he can just discard these 2 wounds instead of gaining another one.

The discard part is there to balance the chip. The more you use it, the higher the chance, that it will fail.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Gabelman
United States
Beachwood
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Discard 2 wounds means my opponent has to have two wounds in her HAND, correct?

Discard also means: Move from hand to discard pile.

It doesn't mean to "trash", or move the wound chip to the bank.

Is the above correct?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
^ Yes, all correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
elmsley4 wrote:
My wife played the "ante 1 chip into opponent's gem pile".

Will by crash purple shield block this?


No.

Sneak Attack and Repeated Jabs do not send gems and therefore cannot be reacted to with Purple Shield reactions (such as Crash Gem, Double Crash Gem, Gems to Gemonade, Reversal, Unstable Power, Stone Wall, Healing Touch, etc).

However, Sneak Attack and Repeated Jabs are red fist attacks and you *can* react to them with Blue Shield reactions (such as Thinking Ahead Self Improvement)

Note that the Bal-Bas-Beta in the Shadows set has Rocket Punch, which is both a Purple Shield and a Blue Shield and can react to either sent gems or to red fist attacks.

Quote:

If. Have the ongoing effect of the mermaid character, "bubble defense", will THAT stop the ante?


No.

The *ongoing* of Bubble Shield says "negate a gem sent to you", and once again Sneak Attack and Repeated Jabs do not "send" gems.

Note that *reaction* of Bubble Shield "Become Immune to a [REDFIST] attack" will let you ignore the effects of any one redfist attack, so that *can* be used to negate the forced Ante from Sneak Attack or Repeated Jabs


Quote:
Or is an ante treated different than a crash?


Yes. A crash "sends" gems. Red Fist attacks do various things, including sometimes letting your opponent "ante" gems directly into your gem pile.


Quote:
Also, the attacking chip that says " discard 2 wounds or take 1", what is the benefit of discarding two chips? Are you supposed to TRASH 2wounds?


The benefit is that if you already have 2 wounds in hand, you do not then take another wound. This results in situations where Hex of Murkwood does nothing, but that is an intentional limitation on Argagarg that forces him to use bank chips instead of just relying on Hex and Purples to win. Since late-stage playtesting found that monopurple Arg was significantly advantaged over most of of the cast in head to head play otherwise.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.