Tony
United States
Tempe
Arizona
flag msg tools
May the Force be with you.
badge
Good and evil; there never is one without the other.
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to Mage Wars and have three games under my belt. I started with the base game, loved it, and now have all of the expansions, too.

Game 1 -- played Beastmaster in apprentice mode.
Game 2 -- played Beastmaster with full spell book that my friend put together
Game 3 -- played Beastmaster with full spell book I put together

The rules say the beastmaster is the easiest to learn/play, and this helped me get the general mechanic of the game.

But, I am really struggling with building a non-beastmaster spell book for some reason.

I'd really like to try the Priestess or Forcemaster. But, am having a hard time seeing the synergy for these two, or the cost benefit analysis of what spells to pay double or triple for. This was easy for the Beastmaster as there are so many nature spells.

Can anyone share a few tips regarding things should be sure to do and not do when building a spell book for the Priestess or Forcemaster? Any other tips to help me put together a good spellbook?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Douglass
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Forcemaster is generally better off being aggressive. You generally want to play 1-2 big creatures, then get in your opponent's face and start kicking their teeth in. Thoughtspores add a lot of flexibility, but are incredibly fragile, so using them successfully can be difficult. If you aren't using Thoughtspores, you should run Battle Forge. Here is a sample opening:

Turn 1 (20): Sprint to NC (near center) -> Battle Forge in FC (far center) (12)
Turn 2 (22): Enchanter's Ring -> Steelclaw Grizzly -> FD (face down) Cheetah Speed (3)
Turn 3 (13): Force Ring -> FD Bear Strength -> Force Pull -> reveal Cheetah Speed -> reveal Bear Strength -> Attack with Steelclaw (4)