GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,409 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Walter White
msg tools
Hello,

The relevant page seems to be pg 18 of the rule book which states:

"Ship units may support adjacent combat in a sea area or a
land area. Footmen, Knights, or Siege Engine units, however,
may never provide support to combat in a sea area."

The Baratheon played a +1 march on Shipbreaker Bay and a +1 Support on on his Knight in Crackjaw Point. He marched his ships from SB into The Narrow Sea and then played the Salladhor Saan Card.

He agreed that the Knight contributed 0 CS to the fight, but said because it was a +1 order and Land Area's are not included in the quoted text that the support order would still contribute the +1 and count for the purpose of activating the card text and reduce the CS of all Stark ships to 0.

I have looked on the forums and the FAQ and there doesn't appear to be anything that addresses it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Adrian
Canada
Edmonton
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
That's a stretch.
No, never is pretty clear, methinks.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you can't apply the support, you can't apply any bonus connected to the support either. That's why it is called bonus.

No, your land troops can not support sea areas in any way.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walter White
msg tools
Which sounds right, but if you play the +1 support on a siege engine and support a non castle area wouldn't we count the +1 and the engine as 0.

The other thing that seems to lead one believe that this is a legal play is they list all the units that cannot support the adjacent sea instead of simply saying Land Area's may never support adjacent sea areas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hall
United Kingdom
Hemel Hempstead
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lund0829 wrote:
Which sounds right, but if you play the +1 support on a siege engine and support a non castle area wouldn't we count the +1 and the engine as 0.

The other thing that seems to lead one believe that this is a legal play is they list all the units that cannot support the adjacent sea instead of simply saying Land Area's may never support adjacent sea areas.


This has made me wonder about this, be intersting to see what others think.

I for one would think that land cannot support sea in any circumstance.

If you think thematically, how could a knight or swordsman support a sea battle. (Maybe an archer if it was close to the coast?)

However, a siege engine has to be "powered" by humans, so although a seige engine is no actual help in a land battle without a castle or stronghold, there would still be people available to add to the support strength.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
roftie
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Lund0829 wrote:
The other thing that seems to lead one believe that this is a legal play is they list all the units that cannot support the adjacent sea instead of simply saying Land Area's may never support adjacent sea areas.

That's because the land area doesn't receive orders; it's the units on the land area that receive and have to execute the order to support. To say that land areas may never support adjacent sea areas would make no sense.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antti Hyyryläinen
Finland
Kotka
flag msg tools
mb
And the example with the siege engine is a different story because siege engines DO attack and provide support even in the areas without castles, but their attack strenght is 0 in those cases. Land units however can never provide support to sea areas.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ståle Mellesdal
Norway
Lillestrøm
Akershus
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
As roftie says, there's an important difference between a unit which fights/supports with strength 0 and a unit which cannot fight/support. GoT has several examples of the former. One example is attacking an area containing only routed units - they have 0 combat strength, but it leads to a battle, and they can still win after house cards are played. A land unit cannot support a sea battle, a siege tower can support a nearby land battle with strength 0. If it has the star support order, it adds +1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip Stysiak
Poland
Warszawa
Mazowieckie
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lund0829 wrote:
Which sounds right, but if you play the +1 support on a siege engine and support a non castle area wouldn't we count the +1 and the engine as 0.

The other thing that seems to lead one believe that this is a legal play is they list all the units that cannot support the adjacent sea instead of simply saying Land Area's may never support adjacent sea areas.


Land units can support land battles.

Lets say that Baratheon supports Crackclaw Point from KL - it has a Siege in it and a regular support orders. He defends against Stark who attacks from White Harbor and supports himself from Narrow Sea with 3 ships.

Baratheon plays Saaladhor and Stark ships don't contribute their power. The support is in effect - it just happens to have a value of 0 - and Saaladhor's ability is triggered. Was it a support+1 order then 1 power would be provided by the order and 0 by the units.

Supporting with 0 power =/= not supporting at all, which is the case in your example. Land units don't contribute 0 power to sea battles - they CAN'T support the sea battles, so neither +1 from order nor the units' strength has any effect on them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.