GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,522 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
37 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: What do you do when a game doesn't pan out right? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hank D
msg tools
I'm new to game designs and still attempting my first game. I would get excited on ideas and work on it and then when I test play, it doesn't quite pan out as how I imagined when test playing. It gets boring trying to fix it up over and over and my excitement/motivation level drops and I'll try a different game.

What do you guys do?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nat Levan
United States
Glenside
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Hast ye seen the White Whale?
mbmbmbmbmb
That sounds like game design, all right. Ideas are easy, but designing a game to completion is a lot of work. Exactly the kind of boring stuff you're running in to. Making it fun at the same time is even harder, because you can't know if something is fun until you play.

For me, it's a large part intuition, followed by a lot of trial and error. My only recommendation is start with big changes, and work on the details once it is in place.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hank D
msg tools
Thanks. What would you consider are the "big" things? Game mechanics? Theme?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyler
United States
Gainesville
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think sometimes a game that just doesn't work (I'm talking about something beyond saving) can still have really good ideas and fun elements. I find it's really useful to ask myself what does work about the game, and then try to figure out as best as possible how to design a new, better game around those elements.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nat Levan
United States
Glenside
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge