GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,565 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

InterSpace» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lots of rules questions (31 to be exact!) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Turner
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
I've been going through all of the rules with a fine-tooth comb for a while now as I've been working on preparing my copy of InterSpace for play and I've come up with several rules questions. Let me know if any of my questions are unclear or confusing and I'll try to reword them or give an example.

1. Are you allowed to freely retreat into a dust cloud hex or out of a black hole hex?

2. The rules state that "You may not retreat your units into a hex that contains opposing warships." Are you allowed to retreat into a nebula hex that contains opposing warships (since they can't attack)?

3. Can warships in a nebula hex block movement?

4. During bombardment, the rules state "Roll 1 die for each bombarding battleship." Is a "6" considered a miss on this roll because of the battleship's combat rating or is it just a straight d6 roll during bombardment?

5. During combat in a Standard game, the defender removes shields and units from the attacker's fleet first. During combat in a Basic game, this is reversed. Is this intentional? If so, why the difference?

6. When figuring out the limits of how many ships can be placed in each combat intensity zone, do you count ever count civilian ships for the "Fewer Units" rule? In other words, which of these examples is correct:

Zone 2 contains the same number of ships as Zone 1, but it's okay because civilian ships "don't count"
Zone 0: 3 warships
Zone 1: 2 warships
Zone 2: 1 warship and 1 colony ship

or

Zone 2 cannot contain the extra warship, as in the first example, because civilian ships "count"
Zone 0: 4 warships
Zone 1: 2 warships
Zone 2: 1 colony ship

7. The stealth tech breakthrough card states that "Your opponent never receives first fire." If you have joined forces with one player in a hex and another player enters the hex and attacks, how does stealth tech affect the battle if you are the only player with that breakthrough? It would make sense that the attacking player would still receive first fire if they have a tech advantage but they would only be allowed to target ships belonging to the player you have joined forces with. Does that seem reasonable?

8. The planetary grid breakthrough states that "You may announce that [...] your units are inside the grid. Units inside the grid cannot attack or be attacked." Is there a particular point during a turn that this designation must be made and committed to? I would assume it would be immediately before any combat begins, before any LRM fire?

9. Repair robots can't prevent the destruction of artifacts but are they able to "save" other carried resources if a transport is destroyed?

10. If you use grapple beams to capture a transport belonging to a player with the heavy transports breakthrough, but you don't have heavy transports yourself, what happens with the resources if the transport is carrying more than 6?

11. Modular units: Can you disassemble a station if it would remove support from any of your ships? Can you assemble/disassemble other ships in a way that would leave themselves without support (e.g. while outside of support range, turn a cruiser into two assault boats)?

12. The modular units breakthrough can be used in combat during the retreat step. Are you able to break larger units into PBs before declaring your screening units?

13. Can the Sct+ unit from the upgrade encounter be used with the grapple beams or modular units breakthroughs? If so, what would its effective IOU value be in reference to these breakthroughs? Can you use modular units to reassemble a previously disassembled/combined Sct+?

14. Grapple beams are able to capture cargo when used against transports but there is no exception listed in regards to artifacts like there is with repair robots. Can artifacts be captured in any way or are they simply destroyed in this case, as well?

15. When in combat with the doom station and its doom PBs, how should they be arranged on the combat board? Are all doom units simply deployed into zone 0?

16. The rules for the plague encounter state that you must roll to check for contamination as soon as a plague unit enters a hex with other units, or other units enter its hex, which would be during the movement step. Immediately following that rule, it states that infection takes place after LRM fire but before any other combat, which would be during the contact step. Do you have to check during the movement step and the contact step or does it depend on whether or not you refuse to share a hex with them and engage in combat?

17. The rules for encounters state that any additional units stacked with a scout are also affected by encounters. If these units become "free agents" (e.g. plague, madness, etc), does each individual unit move independently of the others or do they all move together in one big mob? If they move in a big mob, does the suicide pact effect of the madness encounter only happen once and all of your madness units die or do any "excess" units madness units remain and continue looking for other people to drink their Kool-Aid?

18. Do the gamblers and merchants encounters, like other encounters, also affect all ships stacked with your scout/cruiser or are the effects limited solely to your scout/cruiser given the fairly specific wording on those cards?

19. Can robots be used as screening units?

20. Can your fleet attack if you have transports loaded with robots (e.g. robotic fighters) but you have no real warships?

21. When a colony draws the rebels card, is there any effect on units that another player has in the hex if the hex is being shared?

22. When using the non-random exploration rules, if you "forfeit" your allotted planets and asteroids by failing to explore new hexes, are you ever able to discover a new planet or asteroids hex such as when all other players have discovered their planets/asteroids equal to their (new) limit and the "single remaining planet" becomes fair game for all players?

23. If you draw the telepaths encounter card, revealing your alien objective, then later draw the wisdom encounter card, which forces you to draw a new alien objective, is the new objective also left face up or does it become secret again?

24. When drawing the wisdom encounter card, do you lose all objective-specific victory points you've accrued up to that point? For some objectives, it wouldn't be a huge loss but it seems like it could be a unnecessarily harsh blow to others. For example, a mid- to late-game xenophobes player who had accumulated a large amount of VPs from destroying alien units would have an especially difficult time recovering if they were forced to switch their objective to, say, parasites.

25. If you are playing the parasites alien objective and you have been "eliminated" from the game (home world, all colonies, and all units have been destroyed or conquered), can you still accrue VPs from infestation and, potentially win? It seems an unlikely scenario but it would be a pretty damn cool way to win, especially if alien objectives remained secret up to that point.

26. When playing Imperial InterSpace, at what point during your turn/combat can you use a nova bomb to deactivate the planetary grid on another player's planet? Normally, nova bombs are activated after combat is resolved but how is the use of this affected if the planet's owner has several ships taking refuge inside the planetary grid and not taking part in whatever combat might have preceded the nova bomb detonation?

27. If you successfully deactivate a planet's planetary grid with a nova bomb, can you then detonate another nova bomb to turn the hex into null space before the planetary grid comes back up again on the following turn?

28. In Colonial InterSpace, attacks are prohibited in the home system hex. Does this also prohibit ground combat?

29. In Colonial InterSpace, when successfully dealing damage in ground combat, are units removed from the colony's resources & new units box removed like they are when dealing damage with bombardment?

30. If playing Colonial InterSpace along with alien objectives, is everyone's objective revealed at the beginning of the game since all "home worlds" are in a "single region" or would it make more sense to adjust it so that they are revealed once all Wormholes are connected within a single region?

31. In a non-Colonial game of InterSpace, the rules don't explicitly state it but it seems logical to assume that colonization cards transfer to a conquered planet's new owner. For example, Lisa colonizes a planet and draws the mineral world colonization card. Later, Dean wants the mineral world for himself and conquers the planet with assault boats. The planet card and mineral world card are transferred to Dean's control. Is this correct? What if the player, or even the berserker, bombarded the planet and completely wiped out the colony? Would it transfer to the next player that colonizes that planet? It seems fairly obvious that the answers are probably all "yes" but my real questions are how colonization cards would work in certain situations in Colonial InterSpace since you can establish more than one colony per planet and each colony draws its own colonization card.

If you conquer another player's colony, I assume you still inherit their colonization card. If a colony is bombarded into oblivion, can a player later choose to colonize that colony's "region" of the planet, thus inheriting its colonization card? If yes, and such a "destroyed region" exists on a planet, do you have the option of simply ignoring that region and taking your chances by establishing a new colony and drawing a new colonization card for that colony? With there being a limited number of colonization cards, what should you do if you run out?
2 
 Thumb up
2.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Turner
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Also, here are a few other question I had previously asked Gregor directly, along with his responses, in case they ever help anyone else.

1. Does the Drive Artifact work at full power on stations or would it be halved?

Gregor wrote:
Well, it does say "any unit with the drive artifact has a movement rating of 5". So that would include stations and the others.


2. Are robotic experimental units considered "warships" for the purposes of determining tech advantage for first fire?

Gregor wrote:
Sure, it would make sense if robotic fighters or defenders were the highest tech things in a fight they would shoot first.


3. What happens if you nova bomb a wormhole hex?

Gregor wrote:
Just that hex becomes null space. The other wormhole entrance wouldn't be affected, it just wouldn't lead anywhere any more.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Turner
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eeek!
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Hammans
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wondering if these had been answered somewhere we can download?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Turner
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jlhammans wrote:
Just wondering if these had been answered somewhere we can download?

The game designer panicked and fled the scene.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Hammans
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Tease...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.