GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,032 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Five Tribes» Forums » Variants

Subject: "Reveal tiles as you go" variant (WIP) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Juan Crespo
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First of all, let me start by saying that I’m not trying to fix the game, in fact I haven’t even tried it yet. I’m just learning the rules in anticipation of my pre-order copy. But going over the rules, the idea of what could be an interesting variant popped up in my head. I just want to share these ideas here.

In this variant, essentially you'll start by blindly moving around an unknown sultanate early in the game, exploring it as you go.
Proceed to set up the game by placing random groups of three meeples in a 6 X 5 grid pattern corresponding to the normal tile position in the tableau, but WITHOUT laying down the tiles yet. You get to reveal a tile when you pick up meeples or when you place meeples on them, drawing the tiles and laying them on the corresponding space. As the game progresses, the sultanate will unravel under your meeple’s feet. You could also use an assassin to kill a meeple and reveal the underlying tile.

As you might have guessed, blue meeples would initially be less valuable when playing this way. This could lead to interesting choices early on in the game, like whether or not to reveal tiles next to blue meeples.