GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,248 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attribute tests for knocked out heroes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James K
United States
State College
PA
flag msg tools
mb
I am using basic II deck for the overload and am in a situation where all the heroes are knocked down.
So can I have heroes test an attribute (for blinding speed) if they are knocked down. And if not, what if all heroes are knocked down?

Also, for the quest most of my monsters have fire breath if I use the card that gives plus one surge and pierce if attack is on a healer (forget exact wording) does the attack using fire breath that hits the healer gain one piece? (When the initial target is not the healer).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Marian
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
From rulebook, p 15 (Defeated heroes):
"A hero cannot use skills or abilities while knocked out, unless an effect
specifically allows it." and "A knocked out hero cannot
receive any Condition cards and is immune to all attacks and most hero
abilities."
So as we play it, he cannot be targeted by overlord cards and shouldn't take any tests. Of course, it's not said explicitly in the rules... just seem reasonable for us

And regarding fire ability - the surges are spent, cards modify attack etc. only on the target figure. So attack gains 1 pierce if initial target is a healer - and then the same attack is applied on all figures (including this pierce). If initial target is not a healer, it doesn't get 1 pierce - and the same, piercingless attack is also affecting remaining figures in range of fire breath, regardless of their class, skills etc.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis West
United States
Phoenix
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
JanMarian wrote:
From rulebook, p 15 (Defeated heroes):
"A hero cannot use skills or abilities while knocked out, unless an effect
specifically allows it." and "A knocked out hero cannot
receive any Condition cards and is immune to all attacks and most hero
abilities."
So as we play it, he cannot be targeted by overlord cards and shouldn't take any tests. Of course, it's not said explicitly in the rules... just seem reasonable for us


To elaborate on this part, when a hero is knocked out, they are mostly considered to be no longer be on the map. The token that they replace their hero piece with is simple a representation of where they would need to be revived or stand up from. It no longer represents a figure, that blocks movement/LOS, and thus cannot be targeted by attacks, Overlord cards, etc. In fact, the only thing that can affect them is something that could cause them to recover wounds. So a health potion can be used on a knocked out hero, Serena's ability in LoR also revives a knocked out hero, etc. (Note that the apothecary's "potions/tonics" that he/she hands out cannot be used however, since they need to be done on the hero's turn, by that hero. And a knocked out hero may only perform a Stand Up action on their turn.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.