GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,144 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Red Tape rule confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EXAMPLE 6.2.8B: Beauregard***, Polk**, and Smith* command the Army of Tennessee with 15 SP’s. Beauregard commands 4 SP’s, Polk** and Smith*; Polk** commands 6 SP’s, and Smith* commands 2 SP’s. Total strength for an attack is therefore 12 SP’s. Without additional leaders (or a promotion), 3 SP’s are uncommanded and thus unavailable for an attack.

Why doesn't Beauregard command 6 SPs in this example?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I'm remembering the variant right, he "burns" 2 of his available SP to command Polk & Smith.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule doesn't mention that:

6.2.8 Army Subordinate Leader Requirement (the "Red Tape" rule): An Army Commander (AC) has a limit to the number of SP’s and leaders which he may command in combat or overrun, as the attacker. These limits never apply to movement, to the defender in a combat, or to Reaction. An AC may command up to 6 SP’s or subordinate (i.e., lower ranked/lower seniority) leaders. Subordinate leaders command SP’s or lower ranked leaders up to their star rank. Cavalry leaders cannot command other leaders. Uncommanded SP’s are not counted in an attack or overrun, although they would retreat and suffer Demoralization with the entire Army. The Tactical Combat Rating of each leader is used, even for those in excess of the command limit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Huber-Wehner
Germany
Brühl
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, Beauregard is at his maxium. He commands 4 SP's and two lower ranked leaders (Polk and Smith) which is together 6 points, the maximum Beauregard can command.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK. Now I get it. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.