GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,032 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Subdivision» Forums » Rules

Subject: building sidewalks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I get that when a commercial tile is activated for the first time, at least one sidewalk must be placed on that tile's edge. What about the second time that comm tile is activated? Can all three sidewalks continue off the end of the current path? Or must one be on the comm tile again? Thanks. Looking forward to my first full game tonight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Peter,

When activating a commercial tile for a second (or more) time, subsequent sidewalks can be built off the end of the existing sidewalk already built.

Similarly, if a commercial tile is activated and any sidewalk sections are already touching the tile, you can build the new segments anywhere off of the existing sidewalk network that touches the activated tile.

Oftentimes, you end up with two sidewalks, but if you connect them, then activating either commercial tile that touches the now single network allows you to build anywhere along it.

Hope the first play goes well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, that's how we thought it worked. And yes, our first game went very well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lucas, when you said "touching", I assume you meant adjacent, right?

In other words, there would have to be a sidewalk along one of the edges of the activated tile in order to be able to build your three segments onto another end of that sidewalk. Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank M.
United States
upstate New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It would have been nice to make that clear in the rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thorphin wrote:
Lucas, when you said "touching", I assume you meant adjacent, right?

In other words, there would have to be a sidewalk along one of the edges of the activated tile in order to be able to build your three segments onto another end of that sidewalk. Correct?


Don't know how I missed this, but yes, along one of the edges. Sorry for the delay.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
skifreak737 wrote:
It would have been nice to make that clear in the rulebook.


It does say as much in the rulebook, at least as I read it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Linda Baldwin
United States
White Plains
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, it's clear that you do that if you activate more than one tile, but not clear if you're activating a tile for the second time (or if there just happens to be a sidewalk there from activating another tile.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would add a question to sidewalk building. Can you make forks (Y shaped)? Or new sidewalks has to be at either ends of the sidewalk?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can fork as much as you like.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
msaari wrote:
You can fork as much as you like.


Ok. Because every photo/example I see sidewalks are always straight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Mitchell

Peoria
Illinois
msg tools
mb
Wildhorn wrote:
msaari wrote:
You can fork as much as you like.


Ok. Because every photo/example I see sidewalks are always straight.


That would probably be because choosing to 'fork' makes little sense most of the time, as you only score One Road at the end of the game-- the one road that nets you the most points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Linda Baldwin
United States
White Plains
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A forked sidewalk is still one sidewalk, as per this thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the real answer is that a lot of times forking has less of a potential to get you points than if you had extended in a straightish line.

Now completely separate sidewalks are indeed wasteful since you do only score one connected set of sidewalk segments.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Linda Baldwin
United States
White Plains
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
True. I was recently saved by a forked sidewalk, though, so they do have their uses at times.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.