GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,810 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advanced Cloaking Device and Running into another ship rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Hinerman
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick confirmation a rule dispute we had today.

Echo with Advanced Cloaking Device runs into another ship. This causes him to "skip his action step" of his turn. During the combat phase he shoots and then cloaks.

Good?

The table ruling was that it was, because while you skip the action step, it doesn't say you can't perform actions (unlike overlapping an obstacle token).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nopa
United States
Addison
Texas [TX]
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. The only times you absolutely cannot perform actions are on an obstacle and when stressed. Skipping action steps are different, and while they deny you the normal sequence when you may perform an action, you can still be granted actions from other abilities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FAQ wrote:
Q: If a ship is required to skip its “Perform Action” step (for example, if it overlapped an obstacle), is it still allowed to perform free actions outside of the “Perform Action” step?

A: Yes.


You can also give actions to a ship overlapping an obstacle (Squad Leader to barrel roll a TIE off an asteroid being the canonical example).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron D
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
Mercury is my dog's name.
badge
I like hats.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HeinzMcDurgen wrote:
The table ruling was that it was, because while you skip the action step, it doesn't say you can't perform actions (unlike overlapping an obstacle token).


rokkon wrote:
Correct. The only times you absolutely cannot perform actions are on an obstacle and when stressed. Skipping action steps are different, and while they deny you the normal sequence when you may perform an action, you can still be granted actions from other abilities.


Both of you have this very wrong about overlapping an obstacle token. You can absolutely perform actions while overlapping an obstacle. You skip your "Perform Action" step, but if you can get actions outside of the Perform Action step (like from Advanced Sensors, Squad Leader, Airen Cracken, etc), you get to take them.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Reference:
Core Rules, p17 (ship overlap), p20 (obstacle overlap)
FAQ, p16
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.