GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,197 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Splendor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nobles' requirements - Match exactly? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lucas Piccoli
Argentina
Santa Fe
Santa Fe
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi everyone,

The following question came up after a couple of plays with my friends. Do you have to match the EXACT amount of bonuses in order to get a visit from a noble?

For example: There is a noble who requires 3 Onix, 3 Ruby, 3 Saphire. I have 4 Onix, 3 Ruby, 2 Saphire. Next, I build a card that grants me an additional Saphire. Now I have 4, 3, 3. Do I get the visit from the noble or not?

There are two rules about this, and there is a bit in the first paragraph that confuses me:

Quote:
At the end of their turn, a player automatically receives the visit from
a noble if that player has the amount of bonuses (and only
bonuses) required, and they get the corresponding tile.


Quote:
At the end of their turn, each player checks the noble tiles in
order to determine if they’re receiving a visit from one of them.
A player can be visited if they have (at least) the quantity and
type of bonuses indicated on the noble tile.


According to the second paragraph it's pretty clear that I would get visited for havign AT LEAST the amount of bonuses required. But the first one says: "amount of bonuses (and only
bonuses) required". So that's what confuses me.

Thanks in advance!

Lucas
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
And only bonuses means "don't count your chips". It does not mean bonuses cannot be larger than what's on the noble card.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Those are the minimum requirements, so yes the Nobles visit you when the last card needed to meet the minimum requirement is built.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Beth Grube
United States
La Vista
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dkeisen wrote:
And only bonuses means "don't count your chips". It does not mean bonuses cannot be larger than what's on the noble card.


I agree with this interpretation. You can only use cards for bonuses and not chips.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Huntington Station
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
lucasmaxi wrote:
... a player automatically receives the visit from a noble if that player has the amount of bonuses (and only bonuses) required ...

If you have more than the amount required you also have the amount required. This is true for all games worded in this way. (Thus the amount need not be exact.)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Piccoli
Argentina
Santa Fe
Santa Fe
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot to all of you for your replies! Very clear answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.