GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,031 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two rules ?s re: Influence and Graveyards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John McDonnell

Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
msg tools
Q1) Player Bob is hurting for cash (join the club right). He decides to play an Influence action, which allows him to move two disks. First he removes the disk from one of his hexes. He takes the white planet colonist there and puts it down on the science or material track. Then he immediately recolonizes the hex, placing a disk there, and populates the white planet with a cash colonist.

Two disks were moved--one off the board and then one right back to the same spot. Was Bob's action legal?

Q2) Player Joe has some trouble with the neighbors. A hostile ship came into his empty hex. During combat, the ship managed to destroy one (but not all) of his colonists. That colonist goes to his Graveyard, and he retains the hex because it's still populated so the enemy can't remove his disk.

Then during Upkeep, Joe uses a spare colony ship to repopulate the bombed planet. A cube comes off his regular track. So now by virtue of having his planet bombarded, he's actually getting MORE resources than before--because there's a cube off-track, sitting in the Graveyard until after he settles up.

What am I missing here? This doesn't seem kosher that you can economically benefit from an (albeit feeble) attack. I can make an agreement with a friendly neighbor that we'll move a single ship into each other's (different) hexes and bomb each other in a "war" in order to garner extra resources? That can't be right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Olson
United States
Ames
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Q1) That action is legal as long as the hex mentioned is connected by wormhole to another hex Bob controls.

Q2) This isn't legal. From Page 24 of the rule book:
"UPKEEP PHASE
Colony Ships
First, you may activate one or more of your remaining Colony Ships (see Colony Ships on page 8) and move Population Cubes to hexes. Contrary to the Action Phase, you may not move cubes to hexes containing enemy Ships."

Hope that helps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Legal and known strategy.

2) Graveyard creates some problems, but you can't colonize hexes with enemy ships.
And remember that attacker chooses which cube to remove.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dymond Kyng wrote:
Q2) This isn't legal. From Page 24 of the rule book:
"UPKEEP PHASE
Colony Ships
First, you may activate one or more of your remaining Colony Ships (see Colony Ships on page 8) and move Population Cubes to hexes. Contrary to the Action Phase, you may not move cubes to hexes containing enemy Ships."


If I recall correctly, that clarification was not there in the first printing of the rulebook. It was errataed, though, for exactly the reason the OP describes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dulkal wrote:
Dymond Kyng wrote:
Q2) This isn't legal. From Page 24 of the rule book:
"UPKEEP PHASE
Colony Ships
First, you may activate one or more of your remaining Colony Ships (see Colony Ships on page 8) and move Population Cubes to hexes. Contrary to the Action Phase, you may not move cubes to hexes containing enemy Ships."


If I recall correctly, that clarification was not there in the first printing of the rulebook. It was errataed, though, for exactly the reason the OP describes.

You recall correctly and I previously responded with that rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McDonnell

Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
msg tools
Thanks for responses, very helpful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
neko flying
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Parmeniotrue wrote:
Thanks for responses, very helpful.


The first one (swapping cubes from one track to another one on a grey planet) can be accomplished without using actions.

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/832483/grey-planet-hopping-t...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.