GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,111 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Check to acquire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If à card say wisdom devin to acquire. Is the devine subskill locked to the wisdom skill? Or can I use My sub devine skill that is under charisma also?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can use either option. Treat them like they are unrelated options in the check to acquire. So choose to attempt it with either Wisdom or to attempt it with Divine. If you choose Divine, do whatever your Divine skill is defined as. So if you Divine skill is based off your Charisma skill, that is fine.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty McFly
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check to acquire are read with an OR between the available checks. In your case, it is "Wisdom OR Divine" so it doesn't matter what primary Skill your Divine skill is under.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Check to acquire or close!!
if a card say succeed at an intelligence or craft 6 to check.

Does Lem get to use d6 and + 3 (knowledge: intelligence) to close it?
Or does he only get the +3 if the card should had Said knowledge to succed?


We are very confused with all the subcathogory skills.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You use the skill listed -- if the base skill is listed, you check using the base skill.

Lem uses a d6 (Intelligence) not a d6+3 (Knowledge)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tolchock wrote:
if a card say succeed at an intelligence or craft 6 to check.

Does Lem get to use d6 and + 3 (knowledge: intelligence) to close it?
Or does he only get the +3 if the card should had Said knowledge to succed?


We are very confused with all the subcathogory skills.


Yeah. Lots of people have that same problem. Forget about them being subcategories if you've played an RPG before.

Anytime a card asks you to use a skill, find that skill on your card. If the skill on your character card mentions another skill, then it you are using both skills. So Seoni's Arcane is Charisma + 2. And her Charisma is d12. So effectively, her Arcane is d12 + 2. Let's say she puts a skill feat in her Charisma, making her Charisma d12 + 1. Her Arcane would then be d12 + 1 + 2 or d12 + 3.

Ezren, on the other hand, has Arcane of Intelligence +2. So his is also a d12 +2. Putting a skill feat in his Charisma leaves his Arcane at d12 +2, but if he puts a skill feat in his Intelligence, he has d12 + 1 + 2, or d12 +3.

But, if the check being called for is just Intelligence, then Ezren has d12 while Seoni has d6. If the check is Intelligence or Knowledge. Ezren can roll Knolwege: Intelligence + 2 or d12 + 2, while Seoni can only roll d6.

So always work from the skills on your character card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.