Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Terrror clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
3.3.4 Terror.
... Select any spaces where the executing Faction has at least 1 underground Guerrilla or, for NVA Terror, NVA Troop cube; pay 1 resource per Province or City (0 for LoCs).
PROCEDURE: Activate 1 friendly Underground Guerrilla in each
selected space (if any there).
If the space is a Province or City without a Terror marker, place a Terror marker. If VC, shift 1 level toward Active Opposition (1.6). If NVA, shift any Support 1 level toward Neutral.


1. Does the wording friendly mean that NVA could activate VC guerilla and vice versa ?
2. In this case, which faction's effect will apply for terror level shift ?
3. If NVA has only cubes (NVA terror only), but VC has a guerilla, does he still have to activate VC guerilla for NVA terror ?


Quote:
NOTE: Terror Ops will not add Terror or Sabotage markers to spaces that already have them. (Certain events can do so, 5.1.1).


Are the events that add an additional terror marker (if already present in space) only the following ?
- General Lansdale unshaded
- Brinks Hotel shaded
- Phoenix Program unshaded

Tet offensive does not add terror marker if already in a city space, right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Barree
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
General Bonkers says the War on String may be unwinnable. Detractors worry that his statements will embolden string.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ignore the generic rule for terror and follow the specific actions for terror on the VC and NVA insurgent operations cards. The rules for each faction are clearly spelled out there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dbarree wrote:
Ignore the generic rule for terror and follow the specific actions for terror on the VC and NVA insurgent operations cards. The rules for each faction are clearly spelled out there.


Great ! Thanks Don.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Guttag
United States
West Chester
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bertrand,

1. For the Insurgent Terror OP, you can only activate that Faction's Guerillas (unless based on a Card Event that says otherwise). In the case of the NVA, if there only NVA Troops, the NVA player can still execute the Terror Op (if there is at least one NVA Guerilla present, one NVA Guerilla must be activated).

2 Only the executing player's Faction Terror effect will happen: For the NVA, shift Support towards Neutral, for the VC, towards Opposition.

3. Yes, see comment in 1 above.


For the three Event Cards you note, the first two (General Lansdale and Brinks Hotel) are clear (see Tip in Playbook) that you add a Terror marker, even if there's already one in the space. For the Phoenix Program, it's less clear from the Tip as to whether you add another Terror marker. Given that there is no specific mention made in Phoenix Program (whereas there is in Lansdale and Brinks Hotel) to add another Terror marker, my thought would be NO. Also, note there is a limit to the total number of Terror markers which may be placed (15) which means you may be execute Terror, but be unable place any Terror markers (including for purposes of Sabotage on LoCs).

For the Tet Offensive, see Tip comments in Playbook about potentially running out of Terror Markers, thus having to determine order in which Terror is carried out. Again, given that there is no mention made in Playbook that the Tet Offensive can cause more than on Terror marker to be placed in each space, my answer to your question would be YES.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Hice
United States
Lake in the Hills
IL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no point in adding terror to a 0-pop provence, is there?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gibsonc22 wrote:
There is no point in adding terror to a 0-pop provence, is there?


In non-player, I believe you need to place them in 0 pop if directed since there is a finite amount of terror that can go on the map. For a player, there is no benefit to terrorizing 0 pop spaces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kralsaa istre
msg tools
Hi
Tell me if it's right :

NVA Terror Op on space with :
1/ NVA Troop = Terror+Shift
2/ NVA Troops + NVA Underground Guerilla = Terror+Shift+Activate NVA Guerilla
3/ NVA Troops + VC Underground Guerilla = Terror+Shift+Activate VC Guerilla
4/ NVA Troops + NVA Underground Guerilla + VC Underground Guerilla = Terror+Shift+ can i choose to activate VC Guerilla instead NVA Guerilla ?


VC Terror Op on space with :
1/ VC Underground Guerilla = Terror+Shift+Activate VC Guerilla
2/ VC Underground Guerilla + NVA Underground Guerilla = Terror+Shift+ can i choose to activate NVA Guerilla instead VC Guerilla ?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
As Don wrote above, the rulebook is wrong and the Faction Ops&Special Activations Play Aid foldout is correct in this case: NVA Terror must activate an Underground NVA Guerrilla (if one is present), VC Terror must activate a VC Guerrilla.

Regards, Oerjan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kralsaa istre
msg tools
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Miller
msg tools
So the NVA can Terror/Sabotage with just a troop on LoC?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. Sure can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vez A
Germany
Kiel
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb

I realize now the ARVN and US bot instructions for Patrol specifically speak of guerrillas on LoCs only. Won't these bots Patrol if NVA troops reside on LoCs?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
No.

/Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.