Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Five Year Plan - "Discard VS trigger event" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Eustice
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
A situation we had in a game involved Five Year Plan being played by the USSR. The only card left in the USSR's hand was Containment. The question is, should Containment be removed from the game due to its asterisk-type event occurring?

The counter-argument I received was that since Five Year Plan specifically uses the word "discard", the random card (Containment) goes to the discard pile prior to its text being triggered and therefore is not removed from the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, when a starred event occurs, it is removed from the game. Starred events cannot happen multiple times.

In this case, the USA would get +1 op for their final AR (or final two AR's if North Sea Oil is in effect, or if the Soviets have had to discard another card).

A starred event occurs when it is triggered, even if it has no effect. For example, if US/Japan Mutual Defense Pact triggers, but Japan is already 4+ USA, no influence is added to Japan, but the event has still "occurred" and the card is removed from play.

A counter-example is NATO. If none of NATO's pre-requisites have been met (Marshall Plan or Warsaw Pact) then it does NOT trigger, and it is merely discarded and remains in play.

A counter-counter-example: if there are no uncontrolled countries in Europe, Truman Doctrine can be safely played by the USSR and it is still removed from the game (as there is no pre-requisite for the event to activate).
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Finkenbinder
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When the Five Year Plan event is triggered, the event on the discarded card triggers if it is a US event. If it is a neutral or USSR event, the card is sent to the discard pile with no event triggered.

Since Containment's event has an asterix, it is removed from the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Eustice
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you both for your responses. That makes perfect sense. (I was right by the way, so I'll rub it in his face during the next game.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.