Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello -

BGG user Nat Whilk and I played Arnhem 44 yesterday evening - we enjoyed ourselves but came away with a number of rules questions. It is clear that the rulebook was not reviewed and rewritten by a native English speaker... some of the grammar and word usages is quite odd!

Regardless, we were able to figure out the game (from the rules in the box, not from the updated versions posted here on the geek) although it was quite a challenge. Today, reading through the updated rulebook and Q&A posts here - we did most things correctly.

Here is a question that I haven't seen an answer to anywhere:

Barrage Fire: Use a die roll to determine which player goes first. That player then chooses one undisputed sector containing friendly artillery units and fires all the artillery units in that sector at targets up to 2 sectors away. Then the other player chooses an undisputed sector and fires all the units in that sector. The players continue alternating until they have fired all the units they want to a maximum of one time each.

QUESTION: A player has 2 artillery units in the sector he is currently firing from. The rules state that he can fire both units at the same target or that he can fire each unit at a different target.

When is he required to declare the target of each of the artillery units? Before or after seeing the die roll results of the first attack?

May a player fire one unit at Target Sector Y, see the outcome and then fire at that same target sector again with the second unit? If this is allowed, are the hits from the first unit to fire carried over and added to the hits from the second firing unit? Or, is it considered two separate attacks, each of which must stand on it's own?









 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Vergauwen
Belgium
Antwerp
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
A player must declare which sectors to fire at before rolling the dice:
he must declare all target sectors at the time he chooses a sector to fire from.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MDVCGAMES wrote:
A player must declare which sectors to fire at before rolling the dice:
he must declare all target sectors at the time he chooses a sector to fire from.


Thanks Dirk. That is the way we played it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.