Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Marvel Dice Masters: Avengers vs. X-Men» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cyclops "If Looks Could Kill" Query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Baskir
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The text of the card reads:

"When Cyclops is assigned to attack, before blockers are assigned, he deals his attack in damage to each opposing character."

My reading of the text is that he does his attack value in damage to each opposing character, but does this ability count as his attack, or does he then get to attack after blockers are assigned?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brook Gentlestream
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

He already is attacking. Once Cyclops inflicts his damage, the opponent may assign blockers. Then yes, when resolving damage, cyclops will inflict his attack value in damage against other blockers (or against the player if he was unblocked).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Satan Himself
United States
Dead Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
You'd trigger his effect for assigning to attack before blockers are declared. The way the attack step works is like this

Declare Attacks
[attackers that are declared to attack are now considered attacking]
Trigger all effects triggered by declaring attacks [this is where Cyclops triggers]
Declare blockers
Trigger all effects from declaring blocks
A window for globals and abilities
Assign damage
etc.

ILCK's ability does not replace his attack, will KO characters before they're able to block, and he will also deal regular combat damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes he is that smexy
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. H. Horatio
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
The Future is a Game
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mabuchi wrote:
Yes he is that smexy


It was this card that made me smile when looking through all the card abilities for the first time back in May. I was like "damn right Cyke is awesome - optic blast!"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Baskir
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can see why you can have a maximum of two of these in your dice mix.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.