Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

King's Forge» Forums » Rules

Subject: Stealing when sixes are rolled, who wins? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Chien
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I went through my first game yesterday with a two-player set up. Everything was down to the wire with both players needing that final fifth item to be crafted to get the win.

On the final craft for Royal Crown (the final item), the first player (anvil holder) was able to manipulate the dice so that he had all sixes.

The second player was also able to manipulate his dice so that they were all sixes.

Resulting scene:


In this scenario, who should have won? First player or second player?

In the rules, under stealing, it was noted that:

Rules page 7: Stealing wrote:

To steal a Craft card, you must be able to allocate dice to that card that are each at least equal to the dice the other player already has on the card AND at least one of your dice must be of a greater value than one of the dice currently on the card.


Does this mean that immediately after the first player did the voodoo to get all sixes, the game should have just ended because second player could not get anything higher than sixes?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No because you can manipulate the dice higher than 6. If the second player could do that, then he would win. When you go above 6 it only stays above 6 until the end of your turn and then reverts to 6 so it can always be topped.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Chien
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rickert wrote:
No because you can manipulate the dice higher than 6. If the second player could do that, then he would win. When you go above 6 it only stays above 6 until the end of your turn and then reverts to 6 so it can always be topped.


Thanks for the confirmation on going above six.

So in this instance, where people are tied six-to-six (nothing above), is first player winner since he got to six "first"?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the second player couldn't go higher than 6 then yes, the fxirst player would win it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure why you seem to be special casing this scenario or putting "first" in quotes. It's the same as the base case for stealing. Items are claimed in turn order, but not permanently owned until the end of the round. Any claimed items may be stolen by players coming later in turn order. After last player has a go at crafting, all claimed items become owned. Works the same for the first item crafted as for the last.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
This is also why turn order is very important in this game. If you go last in crafting, you don't have to worry about other players stealing from you. Where as if you go first, you should probably "buff" your dice if following crafters will be able to steal from you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.