Im not sure IM following you. The barracks by default only has character cards. Your starting deck cards go in your deck not the barracks. There are some events that add facehuggers to the barracks which would cause a non-character to be in the barracks. Maybe clarification on the card Teams of Three and what exactly is considered a character needs to be added to the FAQ?
As I stated in an early post, it is possible to have non-character cards in the barracks like a facehugger.
Fiorina "Fury" 161 Location Hazard 1: Stowaway Shuffle three Facehuggers from the Hatchery into the Barracks.
This is an example of a non-character getting placed in the Barraks. If you are using Dallas (and hopefully other Nostromo characters to enable his ability) its a good way to get put those facehuggers on the bottom of the deck.
I like using it as just a way to gain more characters, especially the more expensive ones.