Hide
6 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Variants

Subject: Rebalancing Torpedo type secondary weapons rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom B.
msg tools
So I guess this is the correct forum for a thread where we actually discuss and propose rule changes. Previously I just inquired whether or not I'm mistaken in noticing "Target Lock + Disable Weapon" weapons are hardly worthwhile compared to buffing primaries. Turns out even a newbie to the game can notice this issue. Granted, I'm fairly new to the game, and there's some secondary weapons I haven't gotten to field test yet, but I've got some experience with them already.

Here's my ideas to start with:

Standardized Torpedo weapons. Standardized damages, specials, costs, and no "from this specific ship +1" bonuses

Enhanced Weaponry:
Needs something special, given it's fairly unique.
Range 2-3: Damage 5
+2 damage at range 2
+1 damage at range 3 (while still negating the +1 defense being a secondary weapon)
Works out to 7 max damage at the cost of two actions.
This is essentially the current "+1 damage on this specific ship" bonus but buffed up to a +2 while favoring a specific range. I'd make it do 1 more damage on the Keldon, but the Kraxon gets neglected so often in favor of the Keldon's superior 5 attack primary. On top of that, a +3 damage which would result on the Keldon might be too much? Actually, if anything, the Kraxon/Keldon are already pretty solid ships, this might be too much.
This would be good against anything, but either crippling crits or stripping shields would be more efficient with Photon or Plasma below.

Photon Torpedoes:
Mostly unchanged, aside from the fact they should be standardized such that Dominion and Klingon also get the critical effects like Federation. Torpedoes are completely useless otherwise for most klingons that already get 4-5 attack die, and dominion's upwards of 6 attack die.
I like the current special of increased crit odds.
Range 2-3: Damage 5