Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple of questions on special powers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Davide C
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
I have a couple of questions about some special powers, I hope someone can clarify.

1. Stout: "You may go In Decline at the end of a regular turn of conquests, after scoring, instead of spending an entire turn going into Decline". What is intended as a "regular turn of conquest"? Up to now we have ruled that when someone chooses the race, that is not a regular turn of conquests, and therefore the power cannot be used. We thought it would be too powerful, especially in combination with the Ghouls, if it were otherwise. Is there some official answer on this?
2. Diplomat: "At the end of your turn, you may select one opponent whose Active race you did not attack this turn as your ally. You are now at peace with him and he cannot attack your active race until your next turn. You may change allies each turn, or stay at peace with the same opponent. Tokens In Decline are not impacted (so Ghouls In Decline are immune to this power and may still attack you)". Is it possible to use the power against a player who went into decline during his previous turn and therefore has no active race on the board?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) After going through any turn of conquests to include the conquests immediately following selection of the race. Stout IS incredibly powerful when combined with the ghouls. Keep in mind with the exception of the ghouls no race can attack or move once they are in decline and they only have one character tile per territory.

2)Yes. Obviously the in decline races can't attack anyway (except ghouls) but this would protect you from that person's invading race they are about to select on their next turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davide C
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks a lot!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pokey 64
United States
Niagara Falls
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Idorrac wrote:
2. Diplomat: "At the end of your turn, you may select one opponent whose Active race you did not attack this turn as your ally. You are now at peace with him and he cannot attack your active race until your next turn. You may change allies each turn, or stay at peace with the same opponent. Tokens In Decline are not impacted (so Ghouls In Decline are immune to this power and may still attack you)". Is it possible to use the power against a player who went into decline during his previous turn and therefore has no active race on the board?


If you play that you can declare "Diplomatic" against an opponent that doesn't have an active race that you haven't attacked this turn, it breaks the game. Especially a two player game.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
panzer6 wrote:
Idorrac wrote:
2. Diplomat: "At the end of your turn, you may select one opponent whose Active race you did not attack this turn as your ally. You are now at peace with him and he cannot attack your active race until your next turn. You may change allies each turn, or stay at peace with the same opponent. Tokens In Decline are not impacted (so Ghouls In Decline are immune to this power and may still attack you)". Is it possible to use the power against a player who went into decline during his previous turn and therefore has no active race on the board?


If you play that you can declare "Diplomatic" against an opponent that doesn't have an active race that you haven't attacked this turn, it breaks the game. Especially a two player game.



It definitely breaks the game in a two player game. Most of the time I remove that power in a two player game. However, I don't understand how it breaks the game by using it on someone without an active race.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael ray
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
panzer6 wrote:
Idorrac wrote:
2. Diplomat: "At the end of your turn, you may select one opponent whose Active race you did not attack this turn as your ally. You are now at peace with him and he cannot attack your active race until your next turn. You may change allies each turn, or stay at peace with the same opponent. Tokens In Decline are not impacted (so Ghouls In Decline are immune to this power and may still attack you)". Is it possible to use the power against a player who went into decline during his previous turn and therefore has no active race on the board?


If you play that you can declare "Diplomatic" against an opponent that doesn't have an active race that you haven't attacked this turn, it breaks the game. Especially a two player game.



Ignore this, it has been clarified by the game designers both on this site and on their site that you can pick a player with out an active race for diplomacy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.