Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
I have been working under the assumption for the past 2 or 3 years that I would never circle back and tweak the Here I Stand design. No major issues have arisen during this time and play balance has remained good overall. However I found out three weeks ago at WBC that the game is once again out of stock and so will be reprinted again in the near future. GMT asked me if I had any adjustments I wanted to make. Which got me thinking...

First of all about possible porting of the Virgin Queen space trading limitations to the HIS diplomatic system. Discussion of that is underway on Consimworld and I will put out a final proposal in that regard in the next few weeks. So you’ll hear more on this but it isn’t the point of this post.

What it ALSO got me wondering was if VQ’s religious system (roll one set of dice for ALL attempts in a conversion action) could also be ported back to Here I Stand. Not to replace the original system, but instead just to maybe be an official variant that folks could use if they wanted accelerated play. I initially thought that it would be impossible to capture all the subtleties of the debaters’ bonuses, winning/not winning ties, and so on.

However, thinking about it this week, I do think there is something that could be workable. The conversion goes something like this:
- For each Publish Treatise/Burn Books action, 4 dice are rolled
- As in VQ, “4”s and “5”s are minor hits, “6”s are major hits
- We use the same rules as in VQ for major hits except you won’t have to worry about nullifying Unrest rolls of “1” – we will only generate unrest in the case of Carlstadt publishing a treatise
- Any attempts that are “+1 DRM” (Bibles, Calvin’s Institutes) will still get +1 DRM
- An extra attempt (Cajetan, Carlstadt, Caraffa, Calvin) will be roll 5 dice instead of 4